When a Co-Dependent Hits Bottom

Accepting the quiet addiction of loving you more (Weekly Special Dec. 6–12)

jules - Miz Mindful
Promptly Written
Published in
8 min readDec 13, 2021

--

Photo by Lavi Perchik on Unsplash

“Oh, you won’t understand! You’re a normie!” In recovery circles, a normie is someone on the outside that could never understand the world of addiction. But I have news for you. Normies understand the world of addiction from a far deeper place.

Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde taught me about love, trust, and loyalty. They taught me love is not a constant I can rely on. Words and actions do not blend smoothly, and it’s a flip of the coin on any given day or given moment sometimes. Oh, and the entitlement of loyalty because of that perceived love.

Trust and loyalty are said to be foremost family traits, yet family members often extend that to do not dare follow another highway of your own choice. We are fed the sense that we owe them our lives because they believe that, as opposed to Source, they created us and they say they love us and provide for us. The bread crumbs we receive are what we deserve within their royal court, otherwise, it could be “off with your head!”

What’s a girl to do?

I would cower and comply with no choices of my own. I adjusted to the eggshell remnants on the floor in an attempt to survive. They treated me as their possession to do with what they…

--

--

jules - Miz Mindful
Promptly Written

Juggler of words as Miz Mindful -- editor Creations Over Coffee, artist, writer, Mindset Coach, Owner Mindful Expressions, Canvassador, - but call me jules!