When People Pleasing Rules Your Life

The Weekly Special — Nov 15th-21st Prompt

Sam Finlayson
Promptly Written

--

Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

I have learned that to be with those I like is enough.
Walt Whitman

When I read this quote, it made me a little sad for the person I was. Throughout my life, my likes and dislikes buried deep under the weight of everyone else’s. People-pleasing became such a lifestyle for me that I struggled at times to articulate what or who I liked.

People-pleasing is a full-time job. It becomes a part of who you are. I never even recognised it was happening. Therapy shone a bright light on all my trauma responses, gave them all a name and purpose.

My therapist guided me to a YouTube video from Julia Kristina. She is a clinical therapist, researcher, and creator of a programme called. The Breakthrough programme. She also has a YouTube channel as well as Instagram. The video he asked me to watch was 10 things you are not responsible for:

This was a revelation for me. She speaks about what we are responsible for, two of them immediately jumped out. We are never…

--

--

Sam Finlayson
Promptly Written

Love 📚 New to writing but loving every minute. Write about my experiences with therapy, trauma and recovery as well as other things that cross my mind 😉