When You Keep Your Promises After 50 Years

Poem prompt response to Oct 12

Yan Huang
Promptly Written

--

Photo by Skylar Kang from Pexels

Promises made
Promises kept
Promises broken
Promises changed
Promises bind
Promises guide
Promises lead

Promises fulfilled made other hearts delight.
Promises forgotten and all hearts are broken.
Promises hold heavy burdens to the one who made them.
Promises are great sounds to the hearts of lovers.
“I promise I’ll return. I promise I’ll care for you. I promise I’ll love you. I promise I will never leave you. I promise I keep my promise.”

One promise broken is a stab to the heart.
Two promises broken feels like four stabs to the heart.
Three promises broken feels like nine stabs to the heart.
A thousand promises broken and 50 years later feel like a million stabs.

Broken trust, shattered dreams, denied hopes. No integrity, no morality, no dignity. Only cynical and hardened hearts remain in shells walking around like the living dead.

--

--

Yan Huang
Promptly Written

Building connections one word at a time. | Bylines in few start-ups | Cancer survivor at 23 | More stories at http://yuyanhuang.substack.com