Wishing

You were here

Joanne Olivieri
Promptly Written
2 min readDec 21, 2021

--

Photo by Author Joanne Olivieri Ritz Carlton in San Francisco

Wishing You Were Here

It’s been 27 years.

Thoughts of you swirl around my heart and memories like sweet snowflakes embracing me on a hot and dry day.

The holidays are especially difficult while displaying smiles, for show, masking the pain.

The spirit of Christmas calls me, ringing tidings of good cheer as memories drift by as an old movie in black and white.

I decide to escape into the city lights spending the holiday season with you, if only in my mind.

Photo by Author Joanne Olivieri The Dome at Westfield Shopping Center San Francisco

Oh, the shopping we would do here under the Big E dome. It’s changed now but the dome is still there and so are the unforgettable feelings of laughter, joy, love, and maxed-out credit cards.

Photo by Author Joanne Olivieri Pier 39 San Francisco

And holidays or any day would not be complete without escapades at pier 39. The sights, sounds, and music all in a world of their own little village.

Photo by Author Joanne Olivieri California Street Cable Car San Francisco

Wandering the lifeless, barren streets without you has me tired and wanting a frothy topped whipped cream hot chocolate so I wait to board a San Francisco sleigh ride on cables, home where I curl up in my old goose down feathered comforter, comfy and cozy and listening to The Carpenters Christmas album reliving the memories I hold dear.

Photo by Author Joanne Olivieri my Mom

I love you and miss you so much, Mom. Though you are always with me, embracing my heart.

Thank you to Ravyne Hawke for the prompts Weekly Special Dec. 20th to Dec. 26th and Daily Special prompt Dec. 21st. I combined both.

Weekly Special https://link.medium.com/s5rOCpfSamb

Daily Special https://link.medium.com/4HmInEnSamb

Thank you for reading.

--

--

Joanne Olivieri
Promptly Written

Published author, poet and photographer. Love birds, animals, food, art, books, music. Contact jmcojo@gmail.com - https://medium.com/@jodapoet