Versatile Vegetables

When life gives you invasive weeds, make coffee

EFHL
Prompts galore

--

Photo by Dmitry Burdakov on Unsplash

To the nosey neighbors who belittle my lawn

For the wild weeds that riddle my lawn

Oh, I beg your pardon,

That’s my vegetable garden

And those dandelions that cover my grass

Are the bountiful harvest I’ll amass

Because the dandelion isn’t a weed,

But a versatile vegetable that can self-seed

\

It’s entirely valid

If you like a good salad

And it gives you the means

To prepare boiled greens

Or a steamy heaping scoop

Of creamy vegetable soup

You can even roast and grind the root

To brew a coffee substitute

\

Every part of the plant, in fact, is edible

Which, I’d say, is pretty incredible!

This poem was written for the prompt: The things I grow in my vegetable garden.

--

--