Leap 3 Projects

Elisabeth Magee
Propaganda COM 416 Fall
2 min readDec 1, 2023

--

For my Leap 3 project, I wrote about five of the insights I have gained through taking Com 416 Propaganda. There are a lot of important ideas to gain from learning about propaganda, especially how to recognize when you are being influenced. Throughout the class, we go over the different types of propaganda and the ways that people use them for positive or negative causes. It is important that propaganda is taught in school because it’s a huge part of our world, and influences people’s beliefs and behaviors. Bringing awareness to it will allow people to analyze propaganda and understand when they may be manipulated, especially in our society now, where misinformation and disinformation are everywhere.

The five insights that I talk about in my Leap 3 project are understanding the dangers of conspiracy theories, how propaganda gets our attention, why fake news thrives in our society, how other countries influence our society, and how our perceptions of our government are created and influenced by our entertainment industry. These are the five topics that I found most interesting, especially the dangers of conspiracy theories. Conspiracy theories have been around forever, but it’s interesting to see how popular they are in our society today. I explain further in my Leap 3 project how conspiracy theories are spreading in our society and why they are dangerous to our country. By taking a read, I hope to give insight as to how propaganda is influencing us all and bring more awareness to how much of our lives are shaped by propaganda.

The link to my Leap 3 project:

https://docs.google.com/document/d/167vr4HK1hp3Uhbv7zLuwZ8rsxyfnigQwQrYBY351TrA/edit?usp=sharing

--

--