Liana Antonelli
Propaganda COM 416 Fall
2 min readDec 7, 2023

--

Me with this class. #LoveHateRelationship

LEAP 3: Propaganda Inquiry

These two memes are basically how I felt throughout the entire semester. There were times when I really enjoyed completing assignments and making videos in this class and then there were times when I would become extremely frustrated and sometimes just confused on what we were learning. Sometimes I just genuinely didn’t feel like doing an assignment or reading, but I think every college student can relate to that. But I do not see that as a negative thing at all! This class challenged me from start to finish. I was intrigued by the many topics we learned and all of the different types of propaganda. In my exploration of propaganda during the COM416 course, I’ve gained valuable insights into its multifaceted nature. This essay goes over five significant takeaways that have deepened my understanding: the historical resonance of Nazi propaganda, the pivotal role of journalism in shaping narratives, the manipulation of patriotism, the symbiotic relationship between conspiracy theories and propaganda, and the portrayal of terrorism as a propagandist tool.Reflecting on the course, it’s been a love-hate relationship, but the insights gained have been invaluable. One key part of this class that I have never used before at URI is Pathwright and I have never heard of “LEAPS.” Unlike some other classes, this one has genuinely transformed my understanding of propaganda, making me more cautious in navigating information and fostering a commitment to questioning and seeking the truth. Overall, despite the challenges, I’ve thoroughly enjoyed the course and appreciate the knowledge it has given me. Thank you!

Leap 3: https://docs.google.com/document/d/13s3P_4fgtk9-EBtfJQYs_-sYxdzcn_eHTE3pKWw8Mho/edit?usp=sharing

--

--