The Perks and Problems With Propaganda

Leah Popovic
Propaganda COM 416 Fall
4 min readSep 21, 2023

“Although many people think propaganda is purely negative, the term also applies to messages that are intended to be used for beneficial and socially desirable purposes” (Hobbs 5).

This approach to propaganda, outlined in chapter one of our textbook “Propaganda Education for a Digital Age,” is what I put into practice when creating my infographic. I chose the topic of the legalization of marijuana since I believe it to be medically necessary for many Americans, as well as a beneficial recreational activity.

In terms of my creative strategy, I chose a medium that is easily accessible to a large target audience. Infographics can be printed and handed out via community events, colleges or universities, local businesses, and individual advocacy. I found it important to incorporate hooking terms and catchy quotes, such as “Breaking News” and “Flower to the people,” so that the infographic would catch peoples’ attention. There are two main target audiences for this work: recreational smokers over the age of 21, and those who utilize medicinal marijuana. Both of these audiences are reached via this medium, with the column portion being more dedicated to the health side of marijuana. While doing research for this project, I found that the health benefits are abundant, including but not limited to reducing inflammation, aiding with mental health disorders, and providing relief for cancer patients (Johnson and Wales University). Additionally, this infographic serves as even more than an advocacy flier: it also supports local businesses, as more dispensaries have been founded since the legalization.

The production process for this infographic included obtaining a quote from a student about their experience with marijuana, as well as finding an appropriate style to portray this information. Including a direct quote from a student makes this work more effective for that specific demographic, much like the website link can assist those who might not have experience using marijuana. Incorporating many images in my work was also fundamental to having an intriguing appearance. As our textbook explains, one of the keys to successful propaganda is composition. The newspaper style which I designed is straightforward to ensure information comprehension. However, one thought that I had while completing this project is how to make propaganda accessible for people who identify as disabled. My infographic, for instance, will not serve those who are blind. To truly succeed with propaganda, one must produce a number of mediums to portray their message. Coming from the eyes of a journalist, I believe that this project “helps learners reflect on the social responsibilities of both the people who create messages and those who consume them,” (Hobbs 15).

Using rhetorical theories and strategies for this infographic was also paramount in terms of exposure. Rather than using slang terms such as “weed” or “pot,” the infographic uses more technical terms so that the information comes across as credible. This also applies to the inclusion of a quote from a reputable newspaper, “The Newport Times,” which I fictionalized for the sake of this project specifically. The information is also logical, as it is backed by a volunteer who was interviewed about marijuana. This personal account also applies to the idea of pathos. By hearing about the source’s chronic pain and the benefits which cannabis has brought them, there is an emotional pull to the infographic in conjunction with other rhetorical tools.

I did take some inspiration from past works of propaganda, specifically a “Reefer Madness” poster from 1932. Throughout chapter one, many historical examples of propaganda are referenced. Much like the ideas of Harold Laswell, this project can be described as “one means by which large numbers of people are induced to act together” (Hobbs 12). The motive behind creating these types of infographics. I think my project could have benefitted from more data visualization, such as charts or statistics as to why marijuana can be beneficial. One of my greatest strengths in this project is my use of storytelling by introducing a “character” to the infographic and providing a personal account.

Creating this infographic was an enjoyable experience overall. I found both work and leisure in creating something via graphic design. I was very excited to see this topic listed on the Do Something website, since I plan on getting more involved with advocacy work both within and outside of the realm marijuana. As mentioned before, creating this infographic made me reflect on how to make advertisements more effective and accessible for the disabled community. I was also prompted to think about the definition of propaganda itself, and how before starting this course, I viewed the term to be quite negative. In reality, propaganda is simply a strategy to spread your message to a wide range of people, possibly even starting a movement. There are definitely types of propaganda that do not follow this moral code, but if we engage in the correct practices, the media industry has the potential to produce and advocate for less negative propaganda to infiltrate advertisements.

One difficulty I encountered during this experience was creating the design for my infographic itself. Since I don’t have much experience with graphic design, I knew that perfecting my vision would not be easy. This is part of the reason why I chose to create an infographic in the first place: to challenge myself as a student. Creating this project also exposed me to the highs and lows of propaganda throughout history.

Works Cited

Hobbs, Renee (2020). Chapter 1. Mind Over Media: Propaganda

Education for a Digital Age. New York: W.W.Norton.

Isles, Caitlin. “7 Potential Health Benefits of Cannabis.” Johnson &

Wales University, 2023,

www.jwu.edu/news/2021/09/7-potential-health-benefits-of-cannabis.html.

Rode, Erin. “Proposition 64’s Ad Restrictions Force Removal of I-10

Cannabis Billboards.” The Desert Sun, Palm Springs Desert Sun,

22 Feb. 2021, www.desertsun.com/story/news/2021/02/22/proposition-64-s-ad-restrictions-force-removal-10-cannabis-billboards/6759211002/.

--

--