The psychology behind propaganda

Katie McManus
Propaganda COM 416 Fall
1 min readDec 20, 2023

--

When I first learned about propaganda I learned about it in the context of WWII propaganda. I was of course horrified by what people did and how someone could fall for that. I remember taking a few psychology courses here at URI and I wanted to write a paper that helps to answer my initial propaganda question of how people could fall for that. What in our brains combined with what I have learned about this course and about propaganda this far makes us so much more susceptible to falling for these messages. The seven tequniques most used in propaganda work as a guide when studying it. Why do humans feel so strongly impacted by the bandwagon effect? Why is it so hard for us to want to take the time to learn and process new information. Not only that but also to express the importance of breaking down the Why? question. How we combat propaganda by learning about it and learning how to identify when we are seeing it.https://docs.google.com/document/d/1r3-uzBBT7cPoOfKUuBg_kg1mMCXhrUPbujTEBOEDwLw/edit?usp=sharing

#Propaganda #theTruth #educationmatters #Fakenews #Psych

--

--