LEAP 2: Natalie Straw

Natalie Straw
Propaganda COM416
Published in
4 min readMar 31, 2023

SCREENCAST: https://youtu.be/wll7wspo19g]

SCRIPT AND ESSAY in google doc form https://docs.google.com/document/d/1THY8sSC4axPYYqLhUl6ase_r9e0aWVuchI_akBXj_oI/edit?usp=sharing

For our LEAP 2 Assignment, I wanted to discuss the harmfulness of pro-life advertisements and campaigns, and why I believe it is harmful contemporary propaganda. When I first started researching potential propaganda, I came across an image on the Propaganda media education lab of a baby with the quote: “In just four days, babies with detectable heartbeats will be protected from abortion in Texas!” Seeing this image made me reflect on how often I see anti-abortion, or as they say pro-life, advertisements everywhere. The conversation of pro-life vs pro-choice has been prevalent in our country for a very long time, but it’s becoming even more relevant after the recent overturning of Roe vs Wade. I see videos of pro-lifers harassing women outside clinics that provide abortions. I’ve seen pro-life billboards in Providence. I’ve seen my fellow classmates post on social media their stances regarding abortion. Every time I see a pro-life photo or message my emotions are evoked- and not in a positive light. They make me feel angry because the pro-life supporters are portraying abortion as though it is shameful or wrong. And if they aren’t discussing it in a shameful manner, they are simply spreading misinformation (for example, pro-life campaigns that state babies get heartbeats the moment they are conceived).

This project opened my eyes to how harmful propaganda can be. I of course already had formed an opinion about abortion, as I am pro-choice. Whenever I see pro-life advertisements or campaigns, I shrug them off and usually think to myself, “wow that’s stupid” or “that’s crazy” since so much of what I see is obviously misinformation or just plain absurd. I didn’t think about how these ads would affect someone going through the actual process of deciding whether they should get an abortion or not. I also didn’t think about how these campaigns/ads could target certain communities or even religions. For example, devout Christians often are pro-life, and I can’t imagine how difficult it would be for a young woman in that kind of environment trying to form her own opinions about abortion. She would probably be driven by fear of the unknown and fear of rejection from her community if she had to make the choice of getting an abortion.

Some struggles I encountered creating this screencast video involved organizing my thoughts in a concise and informational way while getting my point across. I wanted to make sure my thesis was clear- that the pro-life movement uses harmful propaganda to influence its audience. I ended up writing way too much at first and had to narrow down my information so I wasn’t overloading my audience. I tried to pick images that were easy to understand and obviously harmful so that the audience could clearly see the danger in the photos. It was also a little difficult for me to figure out how to screencast on my computer and do a proper voice-over because my laptop has so many technical difficulties!

As I finish up this project, I feel as though I have a stronger grasp on the basic principles of propaganda, and can more easily identify them when I am viewing campaigns, advertisements, billboards, etc. This will be beneficial in my life as navigating harmful propaganda can be difficult, and sometimes we don’t even recognize when the propaganda is targeting or tricking us. I am excited to share what I have learned with my friends who are also passionate about being pro-choice so they can also have a better understanding of how to identify harmful propaganda in contemporary society.

Citations

Cameron, Kaylee, et al. “Abortion Pros and Cons: 5 Pro-Life Arguments.” Focus on the Family, 31 May 2022, https://www.focusonthefamily.com/pro-life/abortion-pros-and-cons-5-pro-life-arguments/. Accessed 29 March 2023.

Cameron, Kaylee, et al. “Ideas for Pro-Life Signs.” Focus on the Family, 23 March 2023, https://www.focusonthefamily.com/pro-life/pro-life-signs-ideas/. Accessed 27 March 2023.

Greenlee, Dr. Cynthia. “The Largely Forgotten History of Abortion Billboard Advertising — and What Pro-Choice Advocates Can Learn From It.” Rewire News Group, 30 July 2015, https://rewirenewsgroup.com/2015/07/30/largely-forgotten-history-abortion-billboard-advertising-pro-choice-advocates-can-learn/. Accessed 27 March 2023.

Jones, Sarah. “How Should Society Punish A Murder?” The New Republic, 30 March 2018, https://newrepublic.com/article/147708/society-punish-murder. Accessed 29 March 2023.

Propaganda.mediaeducationlab. “Texas Abortion Baby | Mind Over Media.” Mind Over Media, https://propaganda.mediaeducationlab.com/rate/texas-abortion-baby. Accessed 27 March 2023.

Save8.ie. n.d. Save The 8th Amendment, https://images.app.goo.gl/bq8g67UTdCBpaNR18, Accessed 27 March 2023.

--

--