LEAP 3: Propaganda Inquiry by Natalie Straw

Natalie Straw
Propaganda COM416
Published in
2 min readApr 27, 2023

https://docs.google.com/document/d/10509oqcL1THp2Z5_WdYtLr7IYAcqHDMSjTeCxq-M-BQ/edit?usp=sharing

Throughout this course, I have learned valuable information regarding propaganda and how powerful a tool it can be. Before this course, I generally thought of propaganda as only a negative tool. I now know it can be used to positively persuade the public, but I also now have a greater understanding of how it can be harmful and deceive people. My synthesis discusses how propaganda is not just purposeful persuasion, but also an effort to manipulate the public. Since taking this course, I have learned that propaganda can be used as both a positive and negative tool.

The top five insights I learned from this course involve propaganda in history, pleasure from propaganda, how conspiracy theories are influential, and the effects of propaganda in media as well as education. These five things were the things I found most interesting and disturbing from this class. I go into depth on how the Nazis’ used propaganda to manipulate the Germans into voting for their party. I discuss the use of propaganda in education and media and how it subconsciously influences us. I also touch on how I learned we get pleasure from propaganda and that’s why it draws us in. I discussed the power of conspiracy theories and how I learned about QAnon from this course. Wrapping up this course, I can confidently say I have a larger grasp on what propaganda is and how to spot it. I look forward to applying what I’ve learned to my real life and sharing what I’ve learned with family and friends so that we can all be on the lookout for propaganda that is potentially manipulating.

--

--