Matt Voutsinos Leap 3 Project

Matthew Voutsinos
Propaganda COM416
Published in
2 min readApr 28, 2023

For my Leap Three project, I decided that I was going to focus on the following 5 insights: Patriotism, Deepfakes, Nazi Propaganda Tactics, Fake News, and Indoctrination. I decided that I wanted to do something from the past, some more modern issues and their potential implications, and some future implications and future problems.

While writing my 5 insights, I tried to follow a similar pattern: what is it/what did we learn, how was/is it used or how it impacts us, and why it matters. To me, this made the most sense on how I should present the insights. Some other choices that I did were I made a simple infographic that lays out the 5 insights and why I choose them.

In terms of what I talked about, I found that they all related to power and how they can impact the future. When writing about patriotism, I wrote about how I learned how instead of uniting we often see it being used as a way to divide people. For Deepfakes, I tried to express that while this may not seem like an issue now for the common person, we are starting to see the technology become better and already generating confusion and harm for some. For Nazi propaganda, I highlighted how it was used by the Nazis and tried to express that if we study the tactics, we can see how some of them are being used on the public today. For Fake News, I talked about how it has raised concerns and distrust for people, and why it may be spread. And finally, I talked about Indoctrination, and how it is a tricky idea and may impact the future of education.

I hope you enjoy it!

Link to my paper (if for some reason this doesn’t work let me know):

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1TLa_kHU15g9Rh5l_VP3aY9yTpTEDLIeEXRjnGV4KXqI/edit?usp=sharing

--

--