Andy Weir: Exclusive Prose Interview

#1 NYT Bestselling Author, Andy Weir, talks “The Martian” with Prose.

Prose.
Prose Matters
7 min readNov 30, 2015

--

Following on from our film vs book blog, we reached out to the man himself, Andy Weir, to ask some burning questions we wanted to ask. Mr Weir did not disappoint, so get your eyes around this and if you haven’t already, buy and read the book, it’s so worth it.

Prose: How long did it take you to write The Martian?

Andy Weir: Three years (from 2009 to 2012).

P: Tell me about journey behind the last word you typed, to The Martian rights being sold to Crown Publishing Group, then onto Ridley Scott for film adaptation.

A: Originally the book was just a serial I posted a chapter at a time to my website. Once the book was done, people started requesting that I make an e-book version so they didn’t have to read it in a web browser. So I did and posted it to my site. Then other people emailed saying they want to read the e-book, but they aren’t technically savvy and don’t know how to download a file from the internet and put it on their e-reader. They requested I make a Kindle version they could just get through Amazon. So I did that as well. I set the price at Amazon’s minimum allowable price of $0.99. More people bought the book from Amazon than downloaded it for free from my website. Amazon has a truly amazing reach into the readership market.

The book sold very well and made its way up various top-seller lists on Amazon. That got the attention of Julian Pavia at Crown. He told his colleague David Fugate (a literary agent) about it. David ended up becoming my agent and Julian offered me a book deal. It was a whirlwind of activity because 20th Century Fox optioned the movie rights that same week.

P: Did you ever think that your words would end up on theatre screens worldwide?

A: I think every writer fantasizes about that, but I never seriously thought it would happen.

P: Mark Watney is such a relatable character, is this based upon character traits of friends or family members known to you?

A: Mark is based on my own personality. Though he’s smarter and braver than I am and he doesn’t have my flaws. I guess he’s what I wish I were like.

P: What was your biggest struggle when writing The Martian?

A: Staying motivated. It takes a lot of mental energy to write a book. Sometimes I’d go months without touching it.

P: You include a lot of scientific information within The Martian, and we know you went to NASA, tell us about this, what did they think of your novel? Is there science behind going to mars when man hasn’t visited mars yet? Is it factual or theoretical?

A: NASA was thrilled with the book. They don’t often see sci-fi with that much attention to scientific detail. With a few exceptions for dramatic license, everything in the book is as accurate as I could make it. There’s no fictional tech in the book. All the technology you see in the story really exists today.

P: Did Crown Publishing Group consult you before allowing Ridley Scott the rights to adapt your novel into a screenplay? If so, did you have any concerns about the way in which your novel would be portrayed in a film, especially when there is so much scientific information to digest which serves to enhance the plot line?

A: Some clarifications: Crown didn’t control the film rights; it was my decision to let Fox buy them off me. Also, Ridley didn’t write the screenplay. The screenplay was written by Drew Goddard. I wasn’t too worried about it because Drew showed me the screenplay and it was a very faithful adaptation.

P: How difficult was it to incorporate the science behind space travel and Martian life, whilst keeping the readers’ attention and weaving a complex story that has loads of pivotal moments?

A: Lots and lots of research. But that part wasn’t hard at all for me. I’m a space nerd, so all that research and math was fun. As for keeping the reader’s attention and having pivotal moments, that’s all built in to the scenario. Dude’s trying to survive in a hostile environment. Stuff will go wrong all the time.

P: Your novel doesn’t take on the usual formula of fiction writing. We dig this, it has lots of plot twists, defeats and victories, and ultimately ends up with a heartwarming end (no spoilers here), how do you do this?

A: I have no idea. I wish I knew what I did right. At the time I wrote it, I assumed the only people who would be interested were hard core science dorks like myself. I never imagined it would have mainstream appeal.

P: Is there anything in the novel that you wish they hadn’t included in the film, or are there things you wish they had?

A: I’m really bummed they didn’t use the Aquaman joke. I loved that line.

P: Did you consult with the director of The Martian, whilst filming was taking place?

A: Ridley sent me questions here and there. They were always technical things, though. Like “Can we show Watney pouring Hydrazine from one container to another out on the surface of Mars?” (Answer: No, the hydrazine would boil off in that low pressure). I didn’t have any creative input when they were filming. Though Drew involved me a lot in the screenplay writing.

P: Is there anything within the film that you would have done differently?

A: I would have given Annie more screen time. Kristin Wiig is a perfect casting choice and Annie is a pretty funny character.

P: Do you like the film? Do you think it did your novel justice?

A: I’m very happy with the film! Yeah, they made some changes. They had to pull things out, or the film would be 5 hours long. But overall it’s a very faithful adaptation of the book and I’m thrilled with how it turned out.

P: How does it feel to have something you wrote adapted into a film?

A: It’s amazing. All my dreams coming true.

P: When writing you must’ve had a vision of what your characters looked like, just like we did as readers, comparing these characters to the film, did they get casting right?

A: I actually didn’t. I know it’s weird, but I don’t really have a mental image of my characters when I’m writing a story. They’re just sort of “blobs” in my head. More about the feelings they evoke than their physical appearance. So I had a pretty blank slate going into casting.

P: You are Mark Watney, you have a choice: one genre of music to listen to, one book to read, one tv show to watch, and one food source to eat, what would they be?

A: 1980’s synth trash, “I, Robot”, Doctor Who, pizza.

P: Who is your favourite character in the book and why?

A: Watney, obviously. He’s a loveable character. But if you want to know who my favorite other than Watney is, (Yes we do) it’s Commander Lewis. I could write a whole book about her. She’s a solid commander who always makes the right call, even when it’s emotionally heart wrenching for her (like leaving a crewman behind)

P: Mark uses a number of expletives in the book, which we loved, after watching the film though, Watney wasn’t as open with his use of language, (WTF?), how do you feel about this?

A: I don’t mind. Swearing is a funny aspect to his personality, but it’s not what the character is built around. If it were, he wouldn’t be a very interesting character.

P: Why The Martian? What compelled you to this plot line?

A: I was imagining a manned Mars mission, putting it together in my mind. Naturally, you have to account for failure scenarios and have plans for what the crew could do. I realized those failure scenarios made for a pretty interesting story.

P: What book made you want to be a writer after reading it?

A: I’ve just always wanted to be a writer. I don’t remember a time when I didn’t.

P: Mark Watney spends a huge percentage of the book on his own; character depth is something not all writers can ever perfect, did you find it difficult at times to continue giving the reader new dimensions to a solitary character?

A: Not really. But I think it’s because I based him on my own personality. So really I just had to ask myself “What would I do in this situation” and it’s what Watney does.

P: What is next for Andy Weir?

A: I’m working on my next book now. It’s a more traditional sci-fi novel with aliens, faster-than-light travel, etc. It’s tentatively titled “Zhek”. It should be out in late 2016.

P: Finally, can I have Matt Damon’s number, pretty please?

A: I don’t have it, heh.

So there you have it. After reading Andy’s responses, I think I just fell in love. Shame about Matt Damon, but when you have the real Mark Watney answering your questions: Matt Damon who?

You can find out more about Andy Weir by following him on Twitter, liking his Facebook page, or directly through his website.

Related

Originally published at blog.theprose.com on November 30, 2015.

--

--

Prose.
Prose Matters

Prose is a social network for readers and writers. Download, free, here http://ow.ly/E1bBV or visit theprose.com