Letters from Prison: A thank you to Prose from an inmate.

Prose.
Prose Matters
Published in
3 min readJul 3, 2016

It is certainly something to be proud of and humbled by when the realization of just how much we are helping someone hits home. NicWit has had a tremendous amount of pain through her life and ultimately, that pain ended up becoming the catalyst to the behavior that put her in prison. Her words have become her crutch now; she has shown such tremendous growth whilst working with us that we truly hope she continues her journey upon release.

Visiting prison each week has taught us both that even though we considered ourselves to be non-judgmental, we still had preconceptions that we took with us to prison. This is no longer the case.

Not only have the prisoners begun to take a lot from what we do, but so have Paul and I. We take a tremendous amount away each week and we have the ladies to thank for that too.

To Sammie and Paul,

Firstly, may I take this opportunity to say a big thank you both for coming into HMP to start the Prose group. And for including me in your group. Wednesday has fast become my most favourite day of the week. I so look forward to receiving the weekly task and I get so much from the feedback the previous task has received. Initially, I was very surprised that people were actually taking the time to comment on my work!

I’ve not only enjoyed my weekly Prose session with you guys but I’ve discovered a passion, a hobby, and an interest which I want to continue upon my release. My writing has already, and will continue, to help me stay motivated and keep focused and busy as I’ve identified my triggers for using heroin are loneliness and boredom.

I am very nervous about leaving here on Friday, (although the prison police liaison officer says I may get ‘gate arrested’ for the crimes I’ve admitted to so watch this space).

I want to be able to continue submitting work to the Prose group and completing my weekly task too. I’ve no laptop or PC so I’m totally reliant on the local library. I am going to go weekly to upload my work and leave comments for my fellow Prose group members.

I’ve no family support and live alone so I know I still have a lot of hard work ahead.

I really want to do something with my writing and inspire and empower others. If you know of any organisation who may be able to assist me, please let me know.

Thank you.

If ever proof were needed, here it is that words really can help in times of need and desperation. Before we sign off, we are asking for your help. If any of you have any suggestions as to what you’d like to see the inmates write, please drop us a line on info@theprose.com

Related

Originally published at blog.theprose.com on July 3, 2016.

--

--

Prose.
Prose Matters

Prose is a social network for readers and writers. Download, free, here http://ow.ly/E1bBV or visit theprose.com