3 Types of Disruptions

Senetta Diane
Prose With Purpose
Published in
3 min readMay 19, 2024

--

A story about the unhealthy things we allow to stay in our lives

Don’t ever let them convince you that the red flags you see in aren’t real ~Sonia Sabnis

Photo by Marcelo Dias on Pexels

Stop being a lone ranger and trying to figure everything out by yourself.

Some things that happen in life will blind you and leave us wondering why we didn’t see them coming.

One of the reasons why life and people catch us off guard is because we think of them like we think of ourselves.

For example, if we are honest, we think most people are honest. If we are liars, we automatically think people are lying to us.

When we are young and inexperienced with life, we allow everything. We put up with behavior because we have nothing to measure it against.

We date people who like us, whether we understand the value of a relationship or not.

We follow the crowd, even if the crowd is going nowhere.

Youth and time are not always our friends because we tend to mirror the relationships, social skills, and life skills to which we have been exposed.

As young people, we don’t know much about character because ours is still being developed.

Some people have had wonderful parental guidance while growing up.

And then there is that other group that refuses instruction and thinks they know everything.

I learned this early in life. I don’t know much.

I had enough sense to recognize a parked car and not get behind it, thinking it was going to move.

I learned how to identify pitfalls by looking at other people.

I made so many mistakes and trusted people who continue to this day to have the same unhealthy mental patterns as they had twenty years ago.

I was not always a therapist, and I never heard of red flags when I was growing up.

I was new to the ways of the world and people. I was not sheltered; I would say I was parented not just by my mother but by my extended family as well.

There are three types of disruptions that will keep you stuck.

1. Following someone who is not going anywhere. How can you progress mentally, emotionally, or physically when you are connected to someone who is not moving?

2. Creating financial hardships for yourself. As we age, we should make wiser financial decisions. If you are still making the same financial mistakes you made in your twenties, you have not learned the lesson.

3. Disregarding your health; you cannot ignore your wellbeing.

There is not anyone who can make you pay attention to the points I have mentioned.

However, life has a way of coming up on our porch and ringing our doorbell.

Having emotionally and mentally healthy people in your close space is paramount.

But it’s even more important that you be healthy too.

Don’t create financial hardships for yourself by trying to fit in with people who are not going anywhere.

I’m not a Debbie Downer; I see a lot of sorrow. If I can encourage one soul, I’m grateful.

Thank you for reading.

Be Well!

--

--

Senetta Diane
Prose With Purpose

Author, Podcast host, empath, poet and writer trying to connect with everyday people. As a Clinician I hope my poetry and stories provide healing for the soul