A Love Letter To Yourself

Senetta Diane
Prose With Purpose
Published in
3 min readFeb 6, 2024

--

A love letter to remind yourself that you matter too

I refuse to live my whole life and not love myself ~Author

Photo by Author

No excuses, no words can describe the soul when you recognize you have neglected yourself, taken yourself for granted and disregarded any concerns you have to make sure everyone around you is good. I was not angry at myself I just reflected and wondered when did I stop considering myself.

I had no children at the time, was not married no major life events occurred. However, somewhere along the journey of life, I became so busy I forgot what made me smile. I didn’t remember what my favorite snack was or who the person was that could make me sit up straight when they entered the room.

I wish I could give the excuse that it was a mid-life crisis but I was in my twenties when all these thoughts began coming. Now it’s been many moons as my elders would say and I know who feeds my soul, who drains my energy and who can enter the room and I sit up straight.

One day I just had the thought I refuse to live my whole life and not love myself. Most therapists do a lot of introspection but there is also work that comes with introspection. I have always wanted to be a happy person no matter what curveballs life handled me. Happiness cost and it was my time to pay the teller.

I refuse not with words but with my actions. What I mean is I started doing some internal inventory and thought what makes you feel your best in wellness? I begin drinking more water with no discussion with myself, I recognize I tell myself what to do.

Then I looked at another area and have continued the journey of loving myself until this day. I will say I have always tried to keep up my appearance, and my wellness but it was some internal areas I needed to dust the cobwebs off and say you matter too.

I have noticed most women are nurturers in some way or another. I have also observed most women, not all will put others before themselves or will be like me not even considered themselves. I had no thoughts about myself, I automatically took care of my outward man but my inner man was calling me.

I will not tell of all the many sorrows I have experienced to get to this revelation of loving myself but I’m here. I want to make sure I clarify what loving myself means to me, the flawed one that doesn’t always agree with the status quo, who is quiet first thing in the morning but can smile with tears in her eyes that is the me I referencing.

I know February means many things to many people especially in the love relationship category. Remember you matter too. I’m not one to name-drop other writers to my story although I appreciate you all. I have some dear fellow writers who made me smile and I wrote this story with Janice Osei-Boamah in mind. She submitted a piece to my publication about how she had not been loved by a man before. (paraphrase) The story has stayed with me for two days.

Lastly, I cannot finish this story without including a part of the love language quiz I created that a dear writer Lu Skerdoo asked me about. This is for all those who inquired about the Love Language quiz. It is the short version.

Enjoy!

Image by Author

Please listen to my Podcast Life 101 this week I will be discussing love languages. Take a look in my Etsy Shop & Ko-fi shop.

Thank you for stopping by.

--

--

Senetta Diane
Prose With Purpose

Author, Podcast host, empath, poet and writer trying to connect with everyday people. As a Clinician I hope my poetry and stories provide healing for the soul