Am I Becoming Superstitious?

Sakthi Mahalingam
Prose With Purpose
Published in
2 min readFeb 14, 2024
Image by Clker-Free-Vector-Images from Pixabay

I have no idea what is happening to me. I have been experiencing some bad omens for the last 20 days now. I am not a superstition, but things that I am going through right now don’t feel right and make me believe in such things.

Every time I step out of my house to work, some bad things happen. If you are visiting my blogs regularly, then you would know that the scorpion stung me a few days ago. I didn’t come to the conclusion that I was becoming superstitious just because of the one incident. Actually, I left to write about some of the incidents before and after the scorpion-stung.

But this is something that I didn’t want to miss writing about. As you all know, today is Valentine’s Day. The fun committee team in my office had arranged some activities owing to Valentine’s Day. I left for work to enjoy the fun. I didn’t know what was waiting for me to not let me enjoy the fun activities.

It’s like a one-way road. So I always make sure my speed is around 30–40 km/h. A car was going ahead of me, and a bike was behind me. Suddenly, the car, without even using an indicator, turned left. I applied the brake, knowing the distance that the bike had followed me. Unfortunately, the bike hit me, and I fell down from my bike in a fraction of a second.

The person who was driving the car didn’t even get down to see what happened to me. That bike that followed me was just looking at me falling down. I believe this world is not filled only with such people; there are still some good people living. The person who was driving a school bus in the opposite direction lifted me and my bike. By then, some passers by had also joined to help me. I thanked them for helping me. I didn’t know how to react to the people who drove the car and the bike behind me. But the person who helped me didn’t leave them. He scolded them while he was helping me. Only after then did those get down from their vehicles to see what happened to me.

Fortunately, I escaped with some slight injuries to my hands and knees. But it will take a week to heal. I don’t know whether it is a bad omen or something God is trying to indicate. But I hope nothing bad will happen to me in the future.

Thanks for reading.

--

--

Sakthi Mahalingam
Prose With Purpose

Write about the happenings in and around my life. Movie-buff. It makes me write fiction sometimes. At present, I'm in search of my favorite genre of books.