Can You Hold My Hand A Little Longer?

Senetta Diane
Prose With Purpose
Published in
2 min readMay 29, 2024

--

I’m doing fine somedays I need to have someone who cares sit next to me ~ Author

Prose about having people close by that care…

Photo by Achraf Alan on Pexels

I do OK most days. As you get older, you learn to go with the flow.

Complaining about life doesn’t get you anywhere and will keep you in despair.

This is the only life I have, so I learned to withdraw to prevail.

When you are tempted to give up, you realize you have nothing else to lose, so you endure the temporary blues.

Oh yeah, you remember the friends you have stood beside. Now everyone hides.

You know that you’re not a fool, so why does it feel like you lost and played by the rules?

Don’t bend, break, or cry too long for the days that are gone.

I can’t remember when I stopped looking for you to hold my hand. I grew up and thought, Life will be grand.

Now that time has caught up to me, I look to see who will stand by me.

No need to be ashamed; there is no blame.

I decided long ago to stand in the face of fear and cry when I could not talk.

I miss our time, and I knew the day would come when you had to leave.

I need you to hold my hand a little longer. I’m not scared or weak.

There are moments at the peak of this thing we call life, and you make it brighter day or night.

Thank you for reading.

Be Well!

--

--

Senetta Diane
Prose With Purpose

Author, Podcast host, empath, poet and writer trying to connect with everyday people. As a Clinician I hope my poetry and stories provide healing for the soul