Countdown To 2024

Senetta Diane
Prose With Purpose
Published in
2 min readDec 4, 2023

--

Prose about the the New Year

Photo by Lisa Fotios on Pexels

As I began to write this prose it sounded more like a declaration. I hope every reader will receive it with hope and it will inspire you to leave nothing undone in 2023. I hope that every reader will not doubt the gift they have inside of them and finish whatever they started earlier this year.

As you maneuver the Christmas season and ponder about what the New Year holds I offer to you a declaration or anthem for 2024.
Give yourself the grace you give to other people.
Stop complaining about your life and work on the areas you want to change.

Reflect on what has worked well in 2023 and increase those areas.
Don’t start one new project, or self-help group until you know who you are and what works for you. It is okay to still be learning who you are.

Finish everything you started in 2023 even if you carry it over into 2024.
Create small doable goals and stop broadcasting everything you do, it’s okay not to let everyone in on your goals.
Stop making promises to yourself you won’t keep.

As you count down to 2024 I hope that every hidden hurt is healed before you step over into the New Year.
I hope that you make peace with yourself as you reflect on what you have not completed in 2023. I hope you will not be overwhelmed by guilt but will use that energy to get some things done.

I hope you recognize that if nothing has changed inside you nothing will change about your circumstances.
I hope understanding and wisdom will give you the peace, and rest in your soul that you are seeking.

If you are an adult I hope you will not blame other people for where you are. I hope you will take ownership of your mistakes and do the work to recover in all areas of your life. As you count down to 2024 it does not have to be a time of misery.

Focus on what was accomplished big or small. Look to what needs to be addressed and don’t delay. Your future is waiting for you now go get it.

Thank you for reading my story and offering me your support. Feel free to buy me a Ko-fi or see more of my upcoming work here.

--

--

Senetta Diane
Prose With Purpose

Author, Podcast host, empath, poet and writer trying to connect with everyday people. As a Clinician I hope my poetry and stories provide healing for the soul