Dear Destiny

Senetta Diane
Prose With Purpose
Published in
2 min readNov 15, 2023

--

Prose about the purpose for which I was created

Photo by Ali Pazani on Pexels

I’m a big proponent of reflection and staying grounded in what I’m supposed to be doing with the time I have on earth. I’m not sure at what age I had the awareness that life is bigger than me and I must make an impact in the generation I was born in.

I have had a knowing that I have something to do as I have gotten older that knowing has grown enormously. It is the air I breathe, my sunrise, sunset and the stars on the darkest night.

Time has caught up with me and matured me in ways I did not know were necessary. I have come to learn that destiny, or purpose the very essence of why we exist is bigger than we are.

Destiny goes beyond what one’s mind can imagine, it does not gratify our soul but it does engulf our spirit. It fulfills us in ways that cannot be measured. Destiny is not a destination it is a journey and that journey evolves, and it has many chapters to it.

The purpose for why we were created will call your name at midnight, you will befriend people you ordinarily would not be in a relationship with and it will introduce you to sides of yourself you didn’t know existed.

Destiny is a task master that you can’t hide from, if you marry your spouse will say something that sparks a flame, if you have children something incredible in your child will stir your spirit. You can call it whatever you want but at the end of the day, it is destiny and it is waiting for you to answer.

The purpose of your life must be discovered. It can seem like finding a needle in a haystack. What I have learned about destiny is that it has always been with me, it has never left me. I have done so many other things that I did not enjoy which should have been a red flag.

Our destiny is like the air we breathe, it is effortless, and we don’t have to work at it. We might have to sharpen some things up that are related to it but the purpose for why we were created is not something we don’t already enjoy.

--

--

Senetta Diane
Prose With Purpose

Author, Podcast host, empath, poet and writer trying to connect with everyday people. As a Clinician I hope my poetry and stories provide healing for the soul