Dear Younger Me

Senetta Diane
Prose With Purpose
Published in
2 min readNov 12, 2023

--

Prose about advice to your younger self.

Photo by Thuanny Gantuss on Pexels

I wrote this prose as a reminder to myself that life will be okay no matter what season I’m in. I was in my early twenties in the military living my life like it was golden (perfect). I had no thoughts about the future or any of the choices I was making. I was not reckless but I made some decisions that impacted my life for the rest of my life.

Naturally, when I started living on my own, I was naïve to the real world and extremely trusting. I believed people were decent for the most part and had no knowledge that people would harm you for no reason. I can say the younger me has not only survived a great deal but thrived despite many adversities.

Dear younger me, don’t be so interested in fitting into the crowd, learn who you are, and don’t despise the rules and regulations that made you who you will become. Address those hidden areas of your life so that you aren’t exposed to the predators of this world. Stay in the class of life that is constantly showing you that you have all the tools you need inside yourself.

Give yourself time to learn what you don’t know. Don’t self-sabotage your growth by allowing the wrong people in your circle. Don’t be so quick to judge other people’s journeys, give them the grace to grow and evolve too.

Mind your own business, life will have enough built into it that will keep you busy. Dear younger me, when you make mistakes not if, learn they are lessons, not losses.

Lastly, dear younger me, make sure you do not give up on yourself no matter what happens. Remember the strength of the people you come from, understand that there is a reason you were born into the family you have, the generation you will impact and most of all the beauty that you have inside that cannot be measured.

--

--

Senetta Diane
Prose With Purpose

Author, Podcast host, empath, poet and writer trying to connect with everyday people. As a Clinician I hope my poetry and stories provide healing for the soul