Epidemic Of Hate

Senetta Diane
Prose With Purpose
Published in
2 min readNov 18, 2023

--

Prose about healing in spite of hate

I was inspired to write this prose due to the increase in hate that appears to be prevalent in every area in the world right now.

Photo by Harriosn Haines on Pexels

You can be out shopping with your family and a mad gunman can randomly come in the building shooting. Sadly, this has gone on for decades in the West.

An unhappy spouse could plot your demise and you may never suspect their intentions. The spirit of hate is pervasive, a normal disagreement could turn deadly due to the hate in someone’s heart.

Hate is hurtful, it not only lurks but looms.
It has a dark look, that runs afoot.
It is bent to harm and nowadays is armed.
Hate did not start yesterday it’s been here before.

I guess to hate someone for the color of their skin makes other people feel like they can win. To bring harm to a fellow man for their ethnicity is one of the greatest sins. The epidemic to hate is not about my skin or next of kin, it’s about the fear that I could win.

Why hate a group because of their religious beliefs? Have you considered what you could learn if you give them a turn? I’m not asking for permission to win, despite this subtle sin. I choose to forgive hate, if not then I lose this ongoing debate. I don’t forget because I’m human, I share because I care this is a burden we all bear.

--

--

Senetta Diane
Prose With Purpose

Author, Podcast host, empath, poet and writer trying to connect with everyday people. As a Clinician I hope my poetry and stories provide healing for the soul