Experiencing The Cyclonic Rainfall

The weird names of cyclones always attract me

Sakthi Mahalingam
Prose With Purpose
2 min readDec 3, 2023

--

Photo by Egor Komarov on Pexels

Every December, Chennai experiences either a cyclone, flood, or heavy rainfall. This year, the cyclonic storm formed today in the Bay of Bengal, according to the Meteorological Department’s prediction. It is expected that it will hit Chennai and the suburbs of the city, as well as the coastlines of Andhra Pradesh in India, on or around December 4.

Since morning, every news channel has been covering the information about the storm, raising awareness among the people, and reiterating precautionary steps that need to be taken to confront the storm.

The government has proclaimed a general holiday tomorrow for schools, colleges, and other academic institutions. I am unlucky to have the holiday on Monday. No matter how we confront cyclones or other natural calamities, my job is inevitable. I still have the option of working from home.

Though I couldn’t hang out with my friends this Sunday, I am enjoying the weather and curling up in bed. This is always a better option😂.

To kill my free time, I prepared lunch today — Biriyani. I am indeed good at this. I was so overwhelmed by the compliments from my family.

Post-lunch, while watching the news channel, my mind focuses on the name of the storm that is going to attack us tomorrow. Vardha, Neelam, Thane, JAL, Nisha, and Gaja. In this order, the storm “Michaung” is added to the list this year — the name proposed by Myanmar, which means “strength and resilience.”

I always wonder how the names are given so weirdly. At least it seems weird in my perception. The cyclones are named depending upon the regions, regional specialized meteorological centers (RSMCs), and Tropical Cyclone Warning Centres (TCWCs).

Have you ever come across silly weirdness of this sort in your experience?

I would love to hear your comments. I hope you’ve enjoyed the scoop of my life.

Thank you for taking the time to read my story.

--

--

Sakthi Mahalingam
Prose With Purpose

Write about the happenings in and around my life. Movie-buff. It makes me write fiction sometimes. At present, I'm in search of my favorite genre of books.