God Is In Control

Senetta Diane
Prose With Purpose
Published in
3 min readMay 28, 2024

--

I’m not sure of a lot of things lately but I still believe God is in control ~ Author

A story about the will of God

Photo by Magda Ehlers on Pexels

Guess what? We are in trouble as a nation and as a world. You don’t have to be religious or spiritual; at least that is what someone mentioned to me.

I see and hear something looming in our nation and globally.

I don’t think there is a person on earth who could adequately describe all that is happening in the world right now.

Wars and rumors of wars, pestilence, famine, and tumultuous weather that many attribute to global warming.

I’m not pretending that the world is about to end.

I am saying to pay close attention and be sensitive to the time we are living in.

This is not a debate story.

I appreciate people’s opinions, but this is not that kind of story either.

This story is meant to remind all who listen that there are people who believe God is in control.

The left or right of politics is not in control, and the economy does not have the last say.

I cannot point to anything tangible, and I’m not trying to convince anyone.

If you wake up every day, that should be enough evidence for you to believe God is in control.

The words that I say will not be able to convince you if you have already made up your mind.

I don’t believe in coincidences; I don’t believe things happen by chance.

I’m not a person filled with theories or premonitions.

Well, people have told me they are not religious or spiritual. I respect other people’s beliefs and opinions.

For me:

I see the effects of what is happening in the world and understand that something is happening on a global scale that I need to take note of.

I have lived long enough to recognize that a lot is happening in the world.

I asked an ancestor of mine if she had seen some of the things we are experiencing as a nation.

At 85 years old, she said, “Some of the things we see in the world I have not seen or heard of in my lifetime.

In my extended family, we have passed down family history verbally and through some first-hand accounts.

This story is not intended to make anyone believe the way I do; we are individuals for a reason.

I can say I was shocked when it was raining hail in May in the southern state I now live in.

I asked myself what this was.

I have seen flooding for years in ways I cannot describe, many sorrows economically, and other unexplained concerns.

To date, there have been over 400 reported tornadoes and we still have 7 months in the year.

I cannot go on with life as usual and not rely on my faith and seek God about what is happening in the nation and the world at large.

I’m a Christ-follower. I believe that Christ rose from the grave, and I try daily to live my life in a way that I believe he would want me to.

I am not exempt from what I see, nor do I believe I’m the only one who sees all the chaos happening on a global scale.

No place or person is immune from this type of misfortune. I still believe God is in control.

I don’t see the wind, but I can see the effects of the wind. I don’t physically see God, but I believe he wakes me up every day.

Globally, something is happening that can’t be explained by the human mind; it is a knowing that I keep getting.

Whoever is reading this, stay sensitive to what you are seeing; you are not alone.

Thank you for reading.

Be Well!

--

--

Senetta Diane
Prose With Purpose

Author, Podcast host, empath, poet and writer trying to connect with everyday people. As a Clinician I hope my poetry and stories provide healing for the soul