Healing Hearts With Wise Words

Senetta Diane
Prose With Purpose
Published in
2 min readMay 12, 2024

--

No one gets it right all the time ~ Unknown

A story about giving other people grace when they make mistakes.

Photo by Brett Jordan on Pexels

I come from a lot of strong, opinionated women.

I believe some of it is cultural, as well as the racial disparities they have been exposed to.

My family is large and multicultural, which I’m proud of.

With that said, we adore one another, embrace the complexities that we all have, and are emotionally healthy enough to have those difficult conversations.

Time and life taught me not to hold grudges, not to become quickly offended, and to give people the grace that I want.

I had to learn to create boundaries. I’m not a pushover, but I try to have an understanding of those I interact with.

I value kindness. I show kindness because that is who I am.

I have learned that a soft answer can bring a smile to the hardest of hearts.

I don’t criticize or judge those who are mean-spirited.

I don’t believe they came into the world as cruel people.

Taking the time to look at the man in the mirror provided me with the understanding that as long as I live, I will make mistakes.

I don’t intentionally bring harm to people. I’m open to feedback, especially if it improves my self-awareness and emotional wellness.

It has been an arduous journey to see people but overlook what they do. I have gained peace since I adopted this mentality.

I have realized that just because I see a person for who they are, I don’t have to despise them.

I know how to entertain people from a distance and show kindness if needed.

The only person I have to live with for the rest of my life is me.

Giving grace is free, but losing peace is costly.

Thank you for reading.

Be Well!

--

--

Senetta Diane
Prose With Purpose

Author, Podcast host, empath, poet and writer trying to connect with everyday people. As a Clinician I hope my poetry and stories provide healing for the soul