I’m Investing in Me the Last Months of the Year, How About You?

Senetta Diane
Prose With Purpose
Published in
2 min readJul 2, 2024

--

Reinventing myself despite the chaos in the world~Author

A short story about leaving no stone unturned the last 6 months of the year

Photo by Thgusstavo Santana on Pexels

I was thinking the other day that there are 6 months left in 2024.

While reflecting on life, people, and things that are beneficial to my wellness.

I realize I have more time behind me than I may have in front of me.

I’m not morbid; I understand the brevity of life.

I ask myself, What are you going to do that will make a difference in the last six months of the year?

I recognize that I cannot wait for other people to make or create the life I want.

I have to stop looking for corporations or my career to fill the gaps in my life.

I decided a long time ago not to blame other people or life for what happens to me, and part of that decision was realizing when changes must be made.

I see the changes that are happening daily on a global scale, and I

understand that I have to create boundaries, not barriers, in order to

sustain myself for the challenges that are happening.

The list is not exhaustive, but it will be my primary focus for the rest of the year.

I will pay off all my debt.

I will increase my workout.

I will continue to build my relationship with the older relatives in my family.

I will trust that my children know how to make wise choices.

I will diversify my retirement plans.

I will obtain a passport.

I will explore new ways to increase my health.

I will save more than I spend.

I will learn to be as self-sustaining as possible, both agriculturally and technologically.

I had to ask myself: What did I do before a cell phone? I could not remember.

I used a typewriter in high school, so I can make sure I prepare myself for

the changes that are happening.

It’s important to not walk in fear or anxiety but to use wisdom.

I recall the global pandemic and how unprepared I was on a basic level,

with basic necessities.

The last six months of the year are a dress rehearsal for some challenging

days ahead.

The last 6 months I will invest in myself. How about you?

Thank you for reading.

Be Well!

--

--

Senetta Diane
Prose With Purpose

Author, Podcast host, empath, poet and writer trying to connect with everyday people. As a Clinician I hope my poetry and stories provide healing for the soul