My Place is Getting Back to Normal and Ready to Celebrate the Festive

Sakthi Mahalingam
Prose With Purpose
Published in
2 min readDec 9, 2023
Photo by Burak The Weekender on Pexels

Stars glitter in front of everyone’s house. The balconies, which could never be seen when night fell, are sparkling even at midnight now. People in the neighborhood are getting ready to welcome Christ and the new year.

Yes, my place is recovering from the effects of the cyclone “Michaung” left behind. Though we have a multitude of miseries in our lives, festivals have the power to change our minds completely.

The vibrant light brings a smile to the faces.

My colleagues and I set the Christmas tree at the entrance of our floor in the office. Decorated with colorful serial lights, gifts, bells, and chocolates all over the tree. We appreciated ourselves for the artists within us and for creating a beautiful tree. It’s a treat for the eyes.

Our fun committee team in the office has started sending emails regarding the competition on the festival’s account. Bay decoration, blindfolded cookie decorating, and floor decoration with some games.

We have two full weeks for Christmas. But we can’t help but talk about the festival from now on. I see everyone everywhere in the office discussing decoration ideas. Also, we have some newbies on our team. They are giving some fresh ideas, as they just came out of college. One of my friends is going to masquerade as Santa Claus.

When we were talking about that, my other friend made fun of her: “You don’t need any stuff to look like Santa. Just the red dress is enough.” Hearing that comment, everyone laughed. The funny fact is, my Santa friend also laughed at that comment.

I am excited to enjoy the festive moment with all my friends, family and relatives, medium friends, and neighbors. Let’s enjoy it together!

Thanks for taking the time to read my story.

--

--

Sakthi Mahalingam
Prose With Purpose

Write about the happenings in and around my life. Movie-buff. It makes me write fiction sometimes. At present, I'm in search of my favorite genre of books.