My Sleepless Night

Sakthi Mahalingam
Prose With Purpose
Published in
2 min readDec 14, 2023
Photo by Kat Wilcox on Pexels

I always get sleep around 11.30 PM or 12 PM during the week, though I wake up late in the morning😉. The timing would be a bit different on weekends. Sometimes it takes beyond 12.

Last night, it was terrible. I didn’t sleep a wink. Some random thoughts, I could say. You might wonder why I always suffer from random thoughts. I myself don’t know. Okay, this time, I would say it was because of some specific thoughts.

I came across news on one of the channels right before going to bed. I generally don’t watch news channels. But I watch it when I find time just to get a weather update these days. Some or other heartbreaking things are happening across the world on a daily basis. Like any other day, I shouldn’t have watched the news channels.

It happened in one of the states in my country. A woman was burnt alive by her own husband for carrying the FEMALE fetus inside her. In my country, it is against the law to know about the gender of a child before it is born. Her husband somehow got to know that she was carrying a female fetus. After knowing it illegally, he set her on fire, and she was dead pathetically with injuries. How cruel he is!

On one side, we are evolving with technologies. On the other side, our ears have to hear such brutality. He committed this murder even without knowing that he was the sole reason for her wife getting pregnant with the female child. I don’t know whether to cry at his foolishness or his inhumanity.

When I was in school, I sometimes used to go to the maternity hospital with my sister when my uncle was gone somewhere for work. I have seen many women visit the doctor regularly to get pregnant when they can’t get pregnant naturally.

While so many people are longing to get a child, why is God giving a child to such people in the first place? And takes it back before it is born?

God should punish him in a crueler way than he did to his wife. This was my prayer today.

Thank you for reading.

--

--

Sakthi Mahalingam
Prose With Purpose

Write about the happenings in and around my life. Movie-buff. It makes me write fiction sometimes. At present, I'm in search of my favorite genre of books.