People Judge You When They Don’t Understand You

Senetta Diane
Prose With Purpose
Published in
2 min readFeb 13, 2024

--

This is a short story about living with being understood

You don’t have to explain everything that’s happening in your life for people to understand you ~ Author

Photo by Kseniya Kopna on Pexels

Some people will get you with no explanation. You and a few people will connect from day one and then here comes the rest of us. Most people will come with opinions and no time in your circle. Some will want to spend time with you even in the business world. Let’s be honest you cannot connect with everyone and nor should you want to.

There will come a day when the scales will fall from your eyes. It will not be because you are callous or you lack empathy for others but you have become aware that you cannot please everyone. There will be those in your inner circle who can’t understand you, and relate to your latest journey.

I have come to understand why it takes most people all their lives to be not concerned about other people’s opinions. Most people have a general interest in what other people think which is normal in life but age has revealed another layer to me that having everyone agree with me, and my choices is not a concern for me.

As a firstborn daughter, I had a sense of responsibility and I cannot point to anything or anyone that made me have those feelings. I have concluded I did not have an older sister and the ground I was paving had not been paved by anyone yet therefore I made my lane, and created my streets.

As I age I recognize people don’t have to understand why I make the choices I do and I have observed the ones who don’t understand or have commentary don’t know me. I hope you don’t waste your time explaining every decision to everyone even family and close friends. Some conversations do not need to be explained.

What you will find is some people will have commentary no matter what, let them talk. What matters is your opinion and if someone else is involved their input. Life is brief and no one wants to spend time in unwarranted chatter and strife.

Ask yourself these two questions:

  1. Does the person who is questioning you make a difference in your decision
  2. Will the person’s opinion matter tomorrow?

Thank you for reading.

Please check out my Podcast Life 101, Esty Shop or Ko-fi Shop.

--

--

Senetta Diane
Prose With Purpose

Author, Podcast host, empath, poet and writer trying to connect with everyday people. As a Clinician I hope my poetry and stories provide healing for the soul