Staycation: Top 3 Ways to Recharge and Reconnect

Senetta Diane
Prose With Purpose
Published in
4 min readJun 2, 2024

--

Your ability to have wellness will come from recognizing what works for you ~ Author

A story about staying close to home and making the most out of each moment.

Photo by Alesia Kozik on Pexels

Are you thinking about trading your faraway adventures for local fun?

Enjoy a relaxing staycation.

We are all busy working, raising children or living life.

While much is said about maintaining mental and physical well-being, it cannot be emphasized enough.

I will be the first to tell you I enjoy a traditional vacation that offers an escape from the mundane.

I started cutting back on traveling when I moved to another state.

While I had no idea staying close to home had a name, I wanted to check out the new area I moved to.

Enter the staycation, a cost-effective and convenient alternative that allows you to recharge and reconnect without leaving your backyard.

I don’t hang out in my yard much, but I do enjoy relaxing around the house and creating moments with my family.

Photo by Kampus Production on Pexels

I enjoy some days of doing nothing. I will admit when I do nothing I feel as though I’m not being productive.

I had to learn to be quiet enough to understand that constant busyness does not equal productivity.

I had to explore what works for me and how I need to recharge and reconnect to become my best self.

If you are asking how do you ensure your staycation truly rejuvenates you?

Here are the top three ways to make the most of your time off:

1. Welcome the Potential of Nature:

Ask yourself: Do I enjoy being outside?

Ask yourself: How do you feel when the sun hits your face?

Nature has a profound impact on our well-being.

Learn to immerse yourself in the outdoors which can reduce stress, improve your mood, and boost creativity.

During your staycation, prioritize spending time in natural spaces.

Explore local parks, hike through trails, or simply sit in your backyard and observe the surroundings.

Learn to engage your senses: feel the sun on your skin, listen to the sounds of birds chirping, and breathe in the fresh air.

Go beyond the usual walking paths and explore new areas.

Photo by Zen Chung on Pexels

I’m a little gun-shy about venturing off by myself. I explore a little more when a crowd is present.

Visit a nature reserve, take a scenic drive, or have a picnic by a lake.

If you’re feeling adventurous, consider camping in your backyard or a nearby campsite.

Sleeping under the stars can be a truly amazing experience.

As a war veteran who slept outside for 7 months straight I refuse to go outdoor camping unless it’s in a lodge.

That is my story on outdoor camping and, I’m sticking to it.

I know that is not real camping but that is the only one I will participate in.

2. Reconnect with Loved Ones:

Another way to embrace a wonderful staycation is to strengthen bonds with family and friends.

I’m known in the family and friend groups as the planner.

I typically plan a year if a gathering will be in another state or a holiday event.

I have a large extended military family planning works for us.

Think about this:

Plan activities that bring everyone together, creating laughter, shared experiences, and meaningful conversations.

Organize a game night, have a movie marathon, or simply enjoy a leisurely meal together.

You can have everyone meet whoever has the biggest backyard and plan a movie night in the backyard.

For families, create a schedule with a mix of individual and group activities.

This allows everyone to pursue their interests while also having dedicated time for shared experiences.

Consider building a fort, playing board games, or starting a family project like a garden or a craft.

The focus of the staycation is building family and friend connectivity.

If you live alone, reach out to friends and family for virtual gatherings or socially distanced outings.

Plan a video call with loved ones who live far away, or organize a virtual game night with friends.

3. Explore Hidden Gems:

I try to be intentional about looking for things off the beaten path.

Often, we overlook the hidden treasures in our cities and towns.

Use your staycation to become a tourist in your backyard.

My best practice is to look up events in the state as well as the city ahead of time.

During the summer, it is easy to find live music happening downtown or local places having game nights.

Research local attractions you haven’t visited before: museums, historical sites, art galleries, or even unique shops and restaurants.

Look for events happening during your staycation, such as farmers’ markets, live music performances, or art exhibitions.

I have always enjoyed picking my strawberries or going to apple orchards.

Find what you enjoy locally, and embrace the moments.

Participating in these events can provide a sense of novelty and excitement, even within your familiar surroundings.

Consider taking a guided tour or joining a local walking tour to learn more about the history and culture of your area.

This can offer a fresh perspective on your surroundings and provide interesting insights you might have missed before.

Remember, a staycation is all about slowing down and creating a personalized experience.

By embracing the potential of nature, reconnecting with loved ones, and exploring hidden gems, you can have a fascinating staycation in your backyard.

Thank you for reading.

Be Well!

--

--

Senetta Diane
Prose With Purpose

Author, Podcast host, empath, poet and writer trying to connect with everyday people. As a Clinician I hope my poetry and stories provide healing for the soul