What Kind of Writer Are You?

Senetta Diane
Prose With Purpose
Published in
3 min readDec 17, 2023

--

“Obstacles can’t stop you. Problems can’t stop you. Most of all, other people can’t stop you. Only you can stop you”~ Jeffrey Gitomer

Photo by Anna Nekrashevich on Pexels

I have been writing now for over 30 years. I have had the opportunity to understand what writing has provided for me as a person and for the last two decades I have been able to direct others with some of the the same tools. As a teenager, I wrote to find out who I was and who I could become.

I never imagined I would become a writer or instruct my clients to write as part of their mental health care. My motive in writing for myself is understanding and to instruct, or inspire those that read what I write. Getting rewarded financially for what I have done for free for years is a bonus.

I have been blessed to have a career as a therapist, my ability to write is a gift that I give to myself and I get to share it with the world is the gift I give back. I’m the kind of writer that does not have to be told to write, it is who I am when no one is looking.

I naturally engage others not just because I’m asked to but because that is who I am. With an estimated 100 million people on Medium every month, people have their agenda and reason for being on this platform. I take nothing personally, this platform is business I try to be friendly but I have my close circle in the natural.

I try to treat others the way I would want to be treated. As a writer ask yourself why are you here on the platform. The end of the year is fast approaching if you want to write and not engage consistently, you will blame the platform, the other writers and not your inconsistency.

My goals as a writer lead me not how I feel nor the other responsibilities I have. I hope this short story will shake, raddle and roll your motivation if writing is what you want to do full-time. I’m not a name-dropper but the various writers and people I had the pleasure of meeting all over the world have inspired me to keep writing no matter what.

I hope that each person finds out why they are writing, not just on Medium. Don’t get me wrong most people want to be compensated or appreciated for their work in general and on Medium writing is a journey, not a destination. You show up in the world of writing whether you feel like it or not.

Ultimately, things will fall into place but to make an impact in writing if that is your goal, it is a marathon. Thank you for reading and supporting my writing you can buy me a Ko-fi.

Updating new work here daily.

--

--

Senetta Diane
Prose With Purpose

Author, Podcast host, empath, poet and writer trying to connect with everyday people. As a Clinician I hope my poetry and stories provide healing for the soul