Writing On Medium With A Purpose

Senetta Diane
Prose With Purpose
Published in
2 min readDec 1, 2023

--

Prose about writing with a purpose not just for the readers but also for yourself.

“ To live is to choose. But to choose well, you must know who you are and what you stand for, where you want to go and why you want to get there” ~Kofi Annan

Photo by Karolina Grabowska on Pexels

Are you writing just to be writing? What is your end goal? Do you have something in mind for your readers or yourself? Are you new to the writing world and still trying to find your lane? Whatever your response is it will determine where you land in the world of writing especially on Medium.

My purpose in writing is to encourage, inspire not tire and hopefully help my readers to find their lane not just in the world of writing but also in life. I have had the pleasure of interacting with fantastic and gifted writers on Medium.

I had no idea this community of writers would foster what I have been doing for two decades. I began writing as a teenager to figure out life in the hope of gaining some understanding.

Well, It’s been over twenty years and I still have not figured life out but I have gained some understanding through writing. I learned early while writing that I needed to have understanding not just go through the motions of life. I began to enjoy writing because understanding came.

I birthed hope in myself through writing what I began to comprehend. After I became a therapist I started recommending journaling to my clients. I can say the clients who adopted journaling gained insight that a session only spotlighted.

I wanted my writing to matter, I understand some writers rant, sell products through writing or write to address political concerns. I want to propose that writing with a purpose will bring you the readers you want and a loyal readership.

Do you want numbers, claps, or comments? Or do you want to make a difference in the lives of your readers? I have chosen the latter because of my purpose in writing. What is your purpose in writing? Your answer will determine where you land.

Enjoy the journey find your purpose for writing!

--

--

Senetta Diane
Prose With Purpose

Author, Podcast host, empath, poet and writer trying to connect with everyday people. As a Clinician I hope my poetry and stories provide healing for the soul