My workspace is amazing!

Saurav Pokhrel
PROSHORE
5 min readApr 8, 2020

--

In today’s blog, I’ll be exploring most of the happenings that I perceived. I joined Proshore 8 months back and since then my workplace has been a key motivation for my personal development

Image of Proshore Workspace

It is known that everyone’s journey in any workplace starts in a strange way. First, you’ll be in an interview with the strange people, following some shit load of questions which you’ve never been through. And ya, Hereafter you don’t know you’re hired or not.

It was the first day of work, I arrived at 2 pm noon. What I have known before being in an interview is that “Proshore has flexible work time”. My office doesn’t believe in a 10–6-time schedule. If you’re doing what you’re expected to do, time doesn’t matter whether you work for 4 hours or 10 hours. So, I was not even afraid if I arrived at 2 pm at noon. Looking into other traditional corporate’s workplaces, I think I am in the right place to work!

The moment I arrived at the workplace, more than 50 new faces came to the fore. I was a little nervous and shy to introduce myself. Anyways, I introduced myself to the team and had a seat with the “Ringdesk” team. I didn’t feel that I was new here after working some days with them. Everyone here was gregarious: they were not nerds. The days passed by and I kept being close to the guys. It was amazing!

In the first month, I was involved in different intra activities like Proshore Rostrum, TGIF, Knowledge sharing sessions, etc. What I gained from these activities was the feeling of togetherness and self-development. I took the opportunity and made great use of these sessions: made myself comfortable with other colleagues, and built a good friendship with them. The environment is affable.

First days on work.. Guess who?

“The marathon of personal development” on the mind and disorganized practice was never easy to kick off. I was disorganized in the beginning and this was crystal clear. Instead of harsh satires, I was getting constant help from my seniors. Sometimes I feel what would I do if I was working in a “pulling-leg” company. The practice keeps on continuing and I am a pinch organized than before.

One of the company’s traditions, which I came up with was after 3 months of joining was captivating Outing. In a hectic schedule, an outing is always great. It not only gives you a break but helps to figure out some new ideas which would affect your goals in a positive way. You can look through our blog how amazing our outing was!

You can sense the learning environment in Proshore. I am saying because I not only felt that I should do something great but took immediate action by laying my own’s eye on others. You not only think here but execute it immediately if you find the right way to go. There are no separate cabins for separate groups so it’s easy to feel such an environment.

And, Ya, I’m a great fan of coffee and I don’t miss that here. Writing a blog with a cup of coffee is the feeling, the emotion, and everything that’s good :P. When you start committing to blogging, you don’t know how time flies. And a random voice comes, “Lunch ready vayo” and suddenly I realize it’s 1 pm and I enjoy some appetizing recipes, made by Parbati didi. We all are thankful to Proshore for having us home-cooked food which of course is good for our health and ya, you don’t pay for it ;)

In a random photo session

For the time being in this office, I’ve been so close to the interns. They are here to learn and they are doing so. Most of the freshers are not used to the development practices and it’s transparent. They face some really tough times during their learning phase. And whenever I ask them what would you do in that case, they say “ That’s why our mentors are there. Whenever we face any problem we first try to do it on our own, if not possible we consult with our mentors and have things done at the right time”. The environment is there for you- learn as much you can!

I’ve been working here for nearly one year and my performance is reviewed every six months, not only they review, but they give you some really great feedback to pave your own way for personal development. It’s always obvious that if you come up with the ideas that yield value to your organization, then you get some sort of values from the organization. I think it’s clear what I meant to say. I’ve my friend working in a similar office, he’s probably been working there for more than a year and he doesn’t know how he’s been performing, how can he do better in the coming days, it’s a complete mess! I don’t think he’s getting some sort of values that he’s been providing. So, I do feel I am in the right place for the right reasons.

People of Proshore have been going to different meetups: Nationally and Internationally. You can see we’ve been involving in Shopify meetups, WordCamps, Angular Meetup, Developers Circle Meetup, Web weekend Kathmandu, Web Summit Lisbon, and lot more. Proshore sponsors you the major funding on the tickets of any niche related event. We’ve been representing ourselves and getting paid as well. And that’s amazing!

Although there’s a positional hierarchy in our office, we don’t feel that here. Here, the boss is your friend- you’ll see them in the most common appearance. He’s moving here and there with all the positive vibes he’s got. The way they make us feel, we don’t think there are any dissimilarities in position between us. To be honest, I’ve never thought that except for analyzing this topic. So, we all are a part of the fam.

Recently, we’ve been together again for an outing. This time we went to the picnic and spent some interesting time. We played different games that included team-building activities. After all, it was all about togetherness, bonding, recreation, and time off from a hectic schedule.

A group shot by self-timer

I’ve been learning each and every day since the beginning of joining here. I’ve felt some changes in my way to do things, changed the vision to see anything, and of course, made me more responsible. All this happened after coming to this workspace, that’s why my workplace is amazing!

--

--