House Hacking Triumph? A Pursuit of Financial Independence Story

Get Lost Blue
Prosperity Pathfinder
6 min readOct 19, 2023

--

The siren song of passive income was calling…”gotta get ahead, gotta escape this rat race, gotta get on that path to Financial Independence! Okay, I’ll build a Real Estate empire, problem solved! Here’s my experience of navigating the obstacle-laden, pitfall-prone process of trying to House Hack using a small multi-family rental property.

I poured over the internet, read tons of books, listened to podcasts, joined forums. Anything and everything Financial Independence/Retire Early, I consumed. Eventually, I landed on the House Hacking as a strategy to Financial Independence and convinced my boyfriend to do this with me. We had been aggressively saving and managed to get a few pennies together. “Don’t have analysis-paralysis…it’s time to do something!,” I thought. I picked up the phone and called a realtor. The first domino was set in motion.

Image sourced from Canva

Finding my House Hacking Property

My house hacking strategy was to buy a small multi-family, duplex, house with a guest house, something along those lines. I would live in some part of it, and rent the rest. The numbers needed to work such that I lived with little to none of my money going towards the mortgage.

Lunch breaks, Saturdays, every spare minute I was running around to every multi-family in…

--

--

Get Lost Blue
Prosperity Pathfinder

I'm a personal finance warrior. I write about living a truly prosperous life, encouraging freedom and adventure. And I get lost...come get lost with me!