The Friends You Lose…

Randy Gage
Prosperity & Success
2 min readMay 1, 2020

by Randy Gage

Twenty years ago, I had dozens of friends. Or what I thought were friends at that stage in my life. In reality, none of those people were ones I could count on, or really become close with. Kind of like all those Facebook friendships you’ve probably developed.

Now I have a tiny circle of friends. But they are people that are there for me when I need them. They bring great joy to my life. And I can and do share everything with them. None of these people were in my life 20 years ago. And none of the people who were my friends 20 years ago are close with me now.

What changed?

Well me of course. And more specifically, the way I view friendship, and the way I practice it. The people I used to hang out with shared my worldview. Which at that time was one of poverty consciousness, entitlement, and victimhood. We were all professional victims, who gathered together to commiserate with and regale each other with the stories of our trials and tribulations.

The people who are close to me now also share my worldview. Which is one of abundance, that sees prosperity as a value-for-value exchange. We all have a desire to travel a path toward our highest good. This includes a thirst for knowledge, ongoing development, and living a life of integrity with our values.

If you have someone that’s best your best friend since you were kids, I envy you. But if you have all the same circle of friends you has 20 years ago, I worry about you.

Is it possible that you lucked into a large circle of amazing people who all wanted to seek a path of enlightenment and growth? Possible. But probable? No. Most people surround themselves with people who give them permission to stay the way they are.

Most personal development includes organic growth in the circle of people you are closest to. You don’t necessarily lose old friends as much as you drift apart because of changing goals, interests, and worldview.

What about you?

Have your friendships and relationships evolved over the years? Did you “outgrow” some people and attract others operating on a higher consciousness to take their place? Or have you been static with the same group for a very long time? It’s worth some thinking about…

Peace,

- RG

Affiliate Relationship Disclosure

Originally published at https://www.randygage.com on May 1, 2020.

--

--

Randy Gage
Prosperity & Success

Entrepreneur. Author. Jedi Knight. Fighting the forces of evil, one post at a time. Gimme a clap, yo. http://www.randygage.com/