The Prudence of Spending Money

Randy Gage
Prosperity & Success
3 min readMar 19, 2019

Home | Blog | The Prudence of Spending Money

By Randy Gage in Critical Thinking, Success, Prosperity.

Last post we discussed why being “realistic” was a bad premise. I suggested that a better word to use when considering something that might be considered expensive, extravagant, or not realistic is prudent. So let’s go back to Tom’s original question about the ocean front room vs. the dumpster behind Denny’s view, let’s explore it in the prudent context.

For me, this inner debate surfaced every time I had to take a plane. I walked past those plush, warm, wide, inviting, luxurious, leather thrones in the first class section and made my way to my threadbare, cramped seat in row 38 across from the lav. And it wasn’t even a status thing…

The truth is airplane seat pitch (the distance between seats) was designed at a time when someone 5’10″ was considered tall. Since then, while people have been growing larger, airlines have actually been shoehorning more rows of seats in planes to make more money. I’m over 6”1” so an economy seat is physical torture for me. And the state of the economy section in most domestic airlines in American has degraded into flying slums.

As you can deduce from my rant above, I hated every flight I had to take. And I took a lot of them. But I used each trip as fuel…

I knew it wasn’t prudent for me to buy a First Class fare, because it would have crippled the speed it would take me to grow my company. But I vowed that I would do what it took to create a business profitable enough, that I could upgrade permanently to First. And after about five years as a road warrior, I finally did. This allows me to take flights where I can work productively, and arrive rested and refreshed, not frazzled and abused.

I don’t spend money foolishly for status or prestige. I couldn’t care less what the designer logo is on my briefcase or sunglasses. That doesn’t enhance my life one bit and therefore isn’t prudent to me. But a suite at the Mandarin Oriental, a JORD watch, or some Bally loafers certainly does.

Once you expand your prosperity consciousness, you expand the world you see and live in. And more specifically, you decide the certain areas in your life where the more luxurious upgrades are important to you. Sometimes it’s prudent to spend the money now. Sometimes it’s prudent to use the money in another area, to further your prosperity down the road.

Here’s the next food for thought…

I don’t hope the airlines will give me an upgrade based on my status. I buy a full fare First Class ticket. Since most of my flights are international, this can mean a price difference of five or six grand for one flight. Now maybe you’re thinking that me spending that money is immoral and would be better served by donating it to a worth cause. If you are thinking that, you can go fuck yourself. (Said totally with love and spiritual grace, lol.) And I’ll explain why, on the next post…

– RG

Tags: abundance, manifesting prosperity, prosperity consciousness, money, prosperity, JORD watches, Mandarin Oriental, Bally

Affiliate Relationship Disclosure

Originally published at www.randygage.com on March 19, 2019.

--

--

Randy Gage
Prosperity & Success

Entrepreneur. Author. Jedi Knight. Fighting the forces of evil, one post at a time. Gimme a clap, yo. http://www.randygage.com/