Mobile apps, webapps and desktop apps; apps in the broadest term

Ten apps I regularly use

Jim Tolman
Proto.ink Official
Published in
4 min readFeb 3, 2015

--

I decided to make a list of the apps (and websites) I use most. This is not a temporary, hot, trending list, but a robust and durable one. I will obviously not include WhatsApp, Spotify or Facebook. Some apps I have been using for years, other have caught my eye more recently, yet they give me the feeling that I will be using them for a long time. A list of solid apps you can use as a Creative Technologist, like me.

1. Moves

A great GPS tracking app, that is well designed. It is beautiful and functional. I am addicted to having a very compleet history of the places I visited. I use the app to see an overview of my movement through the world. I am so addicted that I still use this app after Facebook bought it. You must try it out to see how cool it is.

2. iA Writer

This is an app for Mac, iPhone and Android that equips you with a clear writing environment. I use it to write articles for my blog and for Proto.ink. Imagine a word processor like Microsoft’s Word being stripped to its essence and removed from its clutter. You are left with an environment where less indeed is more. Be sure to watch the video.

3. Tumblr

Tumblr is a blogging website that has an accompanying mobile app. I am subscribed to a handful of artsy and nerdy Tumblr blogs and they make scrolling through my timeline a nice experience. I love the look and feel of the Tumblr ecosystem (webapp and mobile app). I also use it to write for my portfolio blog.

4. Hyperlapse

One of the most innovating apps of 2014 was Hyperlapse, in my opinion. And I keep using it. With Hyperlapse — an app by Instagram — one can make very stable timelapses and just very stable normal video. The app uses your phone’s accelerometer and gyroscope to accomplish a new level of stabilisation. Every shot u make using Hyperlapse looks impressive and I can not stop talking about it.

5. Snapchat

Everyone knows Snapchat. Snapchat enables fast and fun mobile conversation. Snap a photo or a video, add a caption, and send it to a friend. They’ll view it, laugh, and then the Snap disappears from their phone. The interface of the app is very innovative and new features arrive to Snapchat each year (My Stories, Live Stories, Discover). I use it all the time.

6. Medium

Medium is a blog-publishing platform I regularly use. The platform has evolved into a hybrid of non-professional contributions and professional, paid contributions, an example of social journalism. Anyone can write an article on Medium and any article can become a staff pick. Medium is great for discovery of cool or fun stories.

7. Fiverr

A very cool website with accompanying app. Fiverr is a marketplace for services starting at $5. You can find narrators, designers, singers and writers on Fiverr that are willing to provide you a service with a starting price of $5. I used the service of a narrator for the official teaser of Proto.ink, he priced 5 dollar for 50 words. The result is very professional and it is one of the reasons I love Fiverr.

8. Facebook Pages

I promised I would not put Facebook on my list, but I have been using Facebook Pages for a while and it opened my eyes to how fun it is to use Facebook for a business or organisation. I am manager of 4 Facebook pages and am experimenting with promoted posts and Page Insights. It is cool stuff and I would like to try setting up a successful Facebook campaign and learn more about this.

9. 360 panorama

I use this app when I am in an awe-inspiring church or on top of a big mountain. With a simple interface you can make high quality 360 degree panorama’s. There are many other apps that can do this, but this is just a great one for iOS. The app uses the gyroscope to pan around the image when you review it and it brings you back to the place you have photographed.

10. iMovie

iMovie is an app for Macs and iOS-devices. I use it mostly on my phone and it enables me to quickly edit together different shots on the go. The mobile app is well designed and syncs via iCloud with the Mac version. I was astonished by how much I used the app. I am a video-type-of-guy and iMovie let’s you accomplish something cool in a short time on the small screen of you phone.

There you have it. Ten apps I regularly use. I hope there was something in this for you and urge you to try out every app you did not use so far.

--

--