Makeup and Stickers

The Problem With Cuties Is That It’s Too Much Of A Reflection Of Our Current Reality

Let’s look at the film for what it really is

Aphinya Dechalert
Published in
5 min readSep 13, 2020

--

It’s been a while since I’ve been on social media, but the one time I did venture back into the fold, fresh outrage ran rampant in my feeds. Turns out a movie released by Netflix called ‘Cuties’ is the latest petition for cancel culture.

Words like ‘overt sexualization’, ‘pedophiles’, and accusations of parents subjecting their kids to star in such a sexually explicit film piqued my curiosity. I ended up looking up the trailer to see what the big deal really is.

And based on what I saw, the trailer wasn’t that bad. I ended up watching the movie to give it a fair chance and can see why many are taking issue with it.

However, there’s more to Cuties than just sexualized dance moves and certain questionable shots. What’s bad about Cuties is that it’s a reflection of our current reality that many are refusing to accept.

The issue with raising little humans

I’ve probably got about half a decade left before my little human creature becomes aware of the different narratives of what girls should be, do, think, and dress. She’s currently into ponies and dinosaurs, and I let her run feral…

--

--