Imagining the Future Shopping Experience

Video Prototype, HCID 521 Prototyping Studio, t University of Washington

Nina Wei
Prototyping Practice

--

How is the future of shopping experience like?

Smart Shopper, Video Prototype

Background

I am always extremely curious about “the future”, and I like to imagine the vision of the future and often have crazy ideas in my mind. In this assignment, I tried hard to imagine the future shopping experience, inspired by my own shopping experience, which was not satisfying, convenient, and even annoying sometimes. Then it came the design question:

How can we shorten the gap of online and offline shopping experience, to make the shopping experience more satisfying, convenient and even intelligent, and to help people make better decisions in an effective way?

Design

Process

Firstly, as en extreme user myself, I interviewed myself, and listed all the uncomfortable features related to my previous shopping experience. Then I started to think about any possible solutions to solve these problems and improve the experience without any constraint.

At the same time, I searched and analyzed almost all the fancy ideas and concept videos online. For one thing, to learn how others’ concepts try to solve the problems, for another, to learn how they expressed their ideas in the videos within limited time, very short time, 1-3 minutes.

After several refinement of my concept ideas, I did some kind of “evaluation” with some of my friends, interviewed them about the new concept idea, as well as let them have a “try”.

Concept

The shopping experience could be more intelligent. What, when and where you want can be learned from your previous shopping history, schedule, and notes.

The shopping experience could be more customized (there is a database from crowdsourcing). You do not need to choose, but it will choose the best for you.

The shopping experience could be more experiential. The online and offline world becomes much closer.

Scenario

Sarah is on her way back home.“Hi, Sarah, you have a HCDE Career Fair on Monday 4pm? Want to buy a formal suit?” Her bracelet asked.

“Yes, I want to buy a black, formal and elegant suit, bracelet.”

Sarah arrived home, there is a big screen on the wall. “Hi, Sarah, welcome back! Want to see the searching result?” Sarah clicks the open button — three styles with different texture suits appear.

“Hi, Sarah, do you want to update your body data now?” Sarah says yes, and takes out her bracelet, scan her whole body.

Sarah put the bracelet on the wall. “Congratulations! Sarah, you update your body data! Do you want to try on this black suit?” Sarah says, “Yes!”

A 3D screen (like a virtual fitting room) has been created. “Sarah, do not forget to wear the invisible suit to try on the texture, material and feelings!” Sarah pulls out a very small transparent suit from the bracelet and it become much bigger.

“Sarah, you look so nice, do yo want to try it in the career fair?” Certainly, Sarah chooses the scene of HUB Lyceum.

Sarah looks at herself in the 3D screen, the small suit fits well and the black looks nice. And, it is so comfortable and soft to wear natural fabrics.

So satisfied, “I want it!”Sarah says. “Great! Sarah! Fortunately, you have the same materials left in your 3D printer, do you want to print the suit for yourself or buy and pick up in a local virtual shop?” “Print myself.” Sarah says while she press the button, download the data of the black suit. The data is transferred into the 3D printer automatically. After 5 min, a new black suit comes out from the 3D printer!

Reflection

I learned a lot from this assignment and the critique, thanks so much for all the feedback.

  • It was really challenge and difficult to express and prototype the ideas and concepts in my mind, especially, the ideas seem a bit crazy and more related to the future, most of them are unrealistic at present, such as, 3D screen, invisible suit, try on the texture and feelings. Though, it was really fun to think about the future shopping experience, and I was inspired my many interesting concepts and the discussions with others.
  • It was the first time I filmed and edited the video, also a big challenge. Maybe If I could be able to create 3D models and 3D virtual reality, it would be better to prototype my concepts.
  • Maybe because many concepts are unrealistic, it really caused confusing to the audience. Also, I realized I should introduce more about my idea at first.
  • And the audio, yeah, I admitted that it would be much better if I invited another native speaker to do the dubbing. Yes, though in that case, I should improve my spoken English all in all.

--

--

Nina Wei
Prototyping Practice

Yes, humans are social animals. Yes but no, humans are lonely social animals.