Stopwatch, Fun with Arduino

Electronics Prototype, HCID 521 Prototyping Studio, t University of Washington

Nina Wei
Prototyping Practice

--

Know about Arduino

It was the first time for me to play with electronics. Really excited and had lots of fun! Though, I was also a bit confused about the fundamental theory behind the magic “blink”, and it seemed that I need to pick up the theories of Physics I learned in my high school. I came back to online tutorials and books in Studio, to familiar with the operating principles of Arduino, as well as try to get familiar with Arduino Budget Pack.

Interesting books. Though, did not read so carefully, looked through and tried to find out the main structure and the main parts I wanted to learn and know.
The fundamental theory and operating structure.
Arduino Budget Pack, it seems that “Engineering” can be “Art”.

When I was searching tutorials and example of Arduino projects, I found an app — Fritzing, it is used to visualize the connections between the Arduino and the components on the breadboard.

After the learning trip, I started to create my own learning goals. Without any software or hardware development, and electronic engineering background, I decided to follow tutorials and try to create small projects.

I found an Arduino Workshop Tutorial, looking through the ten examples, and found out they are really interesting projects to try on.

Play with Arduino

Firstly, I tried the Arduino Texter, and failed, then I realized, yes, I did not have the GMS shield. I could be able to make phone calls and text messages if I had one. Then, I decided to work on the Stopwatch, which I had enough materials.

First, I created a simple pressButton.

Then, I added another button, and created a stopwatch.

Press button1 to start, and press button2 to stop. The serial monitor will show you the time elapsing.

Furthermore, I was thinking about if I could do something more to make it more interesting and useful. Yes, I added a LED, so that I can set the time. For example, I set 10s. If the elapsed time is greater than 10s, then the LED will blink. It works!

Would explore more and deeper if I had more time indeed! Fun Arduino!

--

--

Nina Wei
Prototyping Practice

Yes, humans are social animals. Yes but no, humans are lonely social animals.