A Crime on Testnet

Sjors Provoost
Provoost on Crypto
Published in
1 min readDec 28, 2018

On a warm summer day I crave a frappuccino. Unfortunately drugs such as caffeine, sugar and cacao were declared illegal decades ago. This happened because young unemployed college graduates often felt triggered by loud caffeinated rich people. Sugar was causing mass obesity and was also a carcinogen. Cacao was too clearly associated with oppression. These days hardly anyone remembers the reasons, they’re just shown pictures of cocaine addicts and are told cacao is a gateway drug to that.

Fortunately I know a guy, and he charges 0.002,000, — bitcoin. I spin up my Bitcoin Core wallet, because I like the retro look. It doesn’t even use comma’s after the decimal separator, something we all got used to during the hyper-deflation era. Some people would just say 2,000 Bitcoin, but don’t say that anywhere near a Core church!

Continued on my own blog: https://sprovoost.nl/2018/12/28/a-crime-on-testnet-6d95ede8da03/

This post is now also featured in my new book Bitcoin: A Work in Progress.

--

--

Sjors Provoost
Provoost on Crypto

Physicist turned software engineer. Author of Bitcoin: A Work in Progress (btcwip.com)