MEET THE LOOPERS: HOW I BECAME PART OF “THE CIRCLE”

Henrik Janson
Proxloop
Published in
2 min readJan 12, 2017

Hello, my name is Henrik and i am a Looper. I was hired at Proxloop to teach the team how to play ping-pong, but on my spare time I also help Sikander with the development. I studied at the faculty of Information Technology at the University of Oslo, where I did my Bachelor’s in programming and network. Currently I am finishing my master thesis for ROBIN(Robotics and Intelligent Systems).

I was contacted by Ingvild at the end of summer last year and she told me she had an “opportunity of a lifetime” for me. Of course I was intrigued! After a two-month long interview processes, I finally got to meet the “big cheese” or “head honcho” Øisten. I remember waiting for him to show up for about 15 minutes, before realizing that he was sitting approximately 5 meters away from me, doing the same thing.

Øisten is one of those people who really manages to captivate you with his own dreams. Not knowing what I was getting myself into, he managed to give me the impression that this was what I should be spending my time on. And just like that, I was on board!

I am now on my 5th month of being a Looper, and time has just flown by. With it I have gotten to know the rest of the team quite well. After a bit of a slow start, Sikander and I have now gotten into a better rhythm of getting our work done, much due to our truly amazing VP of Engineering (no idea how Ingvild and Øistein managed to find this guy!). Every day I go to work with the feeling of knowing more than I did the last day, and still every sprint/task differ from the last — making every day a challenge.

Luckily we work in a very relaxed environment, so even if there are long nights it does not really feel like it. I think this has a lot to do with Ingvild (who is basically the whole team’s mother) taking care of everyone and keeping Øistein on the ground.

I am really looking forward to see what “the circle” can manage to get out of Proxloop in 2017, and what is to come for me as a developer. That’s is it for me right now!

Thanks for letting me share.

--

--