What’s in My Buds? Featuring Craig Newmark from craigslist

Erin Wade
PRX Official
Published in
2 min readJan 26, 2016

Craig Newmark is the founder of craigslist. He is a self-described nerd, web pioneer, speaker, philanthropist and advocate for technology for the public good.

Craig has had an illustrious career, but it’s not widely known that he’s also a longtime podcast enthusiast and Radiotopia lover. When we dropped him an email, Craig told us, “I love the written word and hearing it performed across areas that fascinate me. That includes storytelling, history and comedy. With podcasts, I get to enjoy whenever I like.”

We talked to Craig about some of his favorites.

What is your go-to podcast and why?

That’d be a combination of WTF with Marc Maron, Judge John Hodgman and Welcome to Nightvale. That included The Thrilling Adventure Hour, now sunset — I miss it a lot.

All very smart, funny and articulate.

What show do you fall asleep to?

Most often it’s WTF; it depends on my mood and what’s newly available.

What show do you wake up to?

I might complete what I had been listening to while sleeping, but then I go to either NPR One, or the local streams from KQED, WNYC or WAMU, depending on where I am.

What is your favorite listening environment?

In bed, or walking to work.

What show do you rave to your friends about?

WTF, Welcome to Nightvale, The History of English, The History of Rome, The Thrilling Adventure Hour. Those are what come up in conversation.

How would you describe a podcast to a 6 year old?

It’s people talking, like radio, whenever you feel like listening. (Not sure if 6 year olds know what radio is).

Who is your favorite podcast personality?

A combination of Cecil Baldwin, Marc Maron, John Hodgman and Mike Duncan.

If you were to start your own podcast what would the subject be?

Maybe what being a 1950s, old-school nerd is about, but that subject is limited.

What is a podcast that doesn’t currently exist that you think should?

I need something that I enjoyed as much as The Thrilling Adventure Hour or The Bugle.

If you’re not listening to a podcast, what do you put on to listen to?

Mostly NPR One, or the local streams from KQED, WNYC or WAMU.

Originally published by Maggie Taylor at blog.prx.org on Jan. 26, 2016.

--

--

Erin Wade
PRX Official

Digital producer, Ear Hustle | Associate producer, Radiotopia