Why Online Self-Help Gurus Like [Name Removed]* are Full of Shit

What works for them won’t work for you

Teresa J Conway 🧚🏻‍♀️
P.S. I Hate You
Published in
6 min readDec 12, 2021

--

Photo by Shiromani Kant on Unsplash

Self-help and get rich quick gurus like [name removed] have been a big part of the online landscape since the dawn of the blogging age and they all spew the same shit. They’re everywhere across social media platforms and they all have the same message:

BUY MY SHIT and I’ll help you!

But are they really helping people? No. Their programs don’t work because they aren’t tailored to you. Why? They aren’t you, but they’re just out to make money off followers like you, so they will tell you they are like you.

The reason they don’t understand you is because they only understand themselves, and often their mistake is believing their experience is transferable:

I DID IT SO YOU CAN TOO!

[Name removed] is a prime example of this. Their general pattern of writing on success always follows the same path:

I thought this was bad! => I ignored it! => I looked at it again! => I finally understand it! => it is the answer to all my problems! => it can be the answer to all your problems!

Positive thinking

--

--