Hannah Galactic
BEULAH
Published in
2 min readNov 23, 2020

--

A poem is meant to be heard.

You will want to rotate your phone.

Lament For Ryan

A Poem: When One You Love Falls Away

You will always be my friend, but
I wish you’d stayed my brother.

Where to begin, how to start?
There is just so much inside my heart

We prayed, we laughed, we watched God run
We bowed down together and worshiped the Son
Your face glowed and I was ever so aware
I prayed that my face too, would glow with such deep care

So I don’t know when it happened
I can’t give an exact date
I know it wasn’t overnight,
I watched you slowly drift away

Time passed, and deep down I knew, things really were not right
Although your face still shown, it wasn’t quite the same light

My friend, I always wanted a brother
And that is what you were
Yet though my tears are bitter
There is One whose tears are pure

He waits longingly for your heart
Which He had not completed molding
He wants to give nothing but love
If you returned, there would be no scolding

How I long to call you brother
How He longs to call you son
He wants you to be free
He wants you back where you begun

Your worth doesn’t come from actions
Or even a good heart
The only place to find it,
Is where you had to start

Within the love of Jesus
Is the beginning and the end
I beg you to hear the Father crying
Consider Him more than me, my friend

I will not give up my crying
Of this there is no fear
Nor will the Father give up His wooing
Until He once again can call you heir
If only you could hear…

How I long to call you brother
How He longs to call you son

If you would only turn to hear His beckoning,
You would get to see Him run
Please Ryan, please…Come!

Please feel free to check out more of my art: www.hgalactic.com

If you find inspiration or any type of goodness in my work, please consider supporting me in one or more ways. All of my very best!

  1. Your claps are so appreciated.
  2. Please share my work with others in all of your various platforms.
  3. Consider exploring my site and finding a piece of art to call your own.
  4. I will always be so very grateful for your prayers.

--

--

Hannah Galactic
BEULAH
Editor for

I am the art, not the artist — sculpted by a Master Potter. www.hgalactic.com