Photo by yeswanth M on Unsplash

Commitment

Steve Frank
Psalming Sermons
Published in
2 min readJan 1, 2024

--

What is good?
What is good for me to do?
I think I know….

But I can’t seem to do what is good.

My determination to do good is inadequate.
I lack…

Motivation

But God has goodness for me.
Good to be done.
Good for me to do.
Good to bless me.

And he offers motivation.
He provides a basis for my actions.
He has given me a…

Foundation

A foundation for commitment.
Commitment to God.
Commitment to God’s purpose.
He calls me to do as Jesus did.
To be a living…

Sacrifice

To present myself as a living sacrifice.
To die to self and to live for God.
To seek God.
To conform to his purpose.
To seek the will of the…

Father

My own purpose,
ㅤ my own will,
Must be surrendered.
For my purposes lead to nothing.
They are in the end,
ㅤ nothing but…

Vanity

My dreams of doing…
ㅤ delusions.
My hopes of accomplishing…
ㅤ deceptions.

Once I was not,
ㅤ but now I am.
Not by my doing.
In the end I will not be,
ㅤ and this I cannot control.
Thus I have nothing except…

Surrender

Only in surrender can I escape the ruts of my path.
Only in surrender can I escape the rust of my body.
Only in surrender is there change.
Transformation.
Metamorphosis

Only in surrender is there…

Life

So I must renew my mind.
I must reshape my brain.
I must write God’s Word on my…

Heart

And as I join in this renewal,
ㅤ he transforms me.
Changes my life.
Gives my life value.
Direction.

Meaning

As I give up my life,
ㅤ as I renew my mind,
God leads me into his perfect will.
As I surrender my life to him.
ㅤ God reveals more and more of his…

Glory

Psalming as Performance Art — written in real time, as I sat listening to a teaching by Pastor Jason from The Garden Fellowship on Romans 12:1–2, on grasping the foundation for change in the new year.

--

--

Steve Frank
Psalming Sermons

A programmer discovering himself in poetry…a lifetime preparing to write, now finally putting pen to paper. You’ll find me in my poetry.