source

Cool Evening Breezes

Steve Frank
Psalming Sermons
Published in
2 min readSep 25, 2017

--

I trudge alone along a barren path.
My journey is through a lifeless desert.
My days are painted in scorched monochrome.
There is no presence here.

I can’t lift my head as I plod,
Eyes focused two feet ahead.
There’s nothing to do but step.
There’s nothing to feel but alone.

The sense of absence fills me.
The awareness is overwhelming.
Everything is missing.
There is no reason to be here.

Then…

A Breath.

I become aware of something.
It tugs at something in me.
At some faint memory from a distant past.
In the midst of my struggle I strive to recall.

The Breath grows, becomes a breeze.
It reminds me of a place.
A place I used to walk.
Where cool evening breezes were blowing.

I feel drawn to that memory,
That tugging at my heart.
For an escape from my scorching days.
For a walk in that cool breeze.

And something more.
There’s something in that breeze.
I feel a sense of with-ness.
In expectation I look up.

I remember…

Presence.

This path was not meant to be walked alone.
There can be.
There should be.
There must be.

Something more than absence.

This was a Presence I could walk in.
This was a Presence I could walk with.
This was a Presence I could walk for.
This was a Presence I could walk toward.

I let go.

The Presence fills me.
We walk together in the cool evening breezes.

--

--

Steve Frank
Psalming Sermons

A programmer discovering himself in poetry…a lifetime preparing to write, now finally putting pen to paper. You’ll find me in my poetry.