Photo by Victoriano Izquierdo on Unsplash

Hearing God in Leviticus

Steve Frank
Psalming Sermons
Published in
2 min readOct 3, 2023

--

Lord, your Word…
Eternal,
ㅤbut old.
Ancient.
So seemingly distant from me.
From my own…

Life

The time,
ㅤthe culture,
Distant.
Different.
Difficult to understand.
Difficult to hear you…

Speak

So how Lord,
ㅤhow do I hear you speak?
How do I understand what you speak.
Lord, how do I hear you speak…

Today?

Lord, how do I hear you…

Call?

For you have called.
You do call.
You continue to call to…

Me

You continually,
ㅤpersistently,
Call me into your…

Story

For you have written,
ㅤyou are writing,
A story of healing.
You are creating a story of life.
You are creating a story of…

Love

In spite of labor…
ㅤRest
In spite of oppression…
ㅤRelease
In spite of slavery…

Freedom

When I cry out in my misery,
ㅤyou hear.
When I groan in my struggles,
ㅤyou groan with me.
When I want to give out,
ㅤyou encourage me.
When I want to give up,
ㅤyou lift me.

So help me Lord.
Help me hear you.
Hear you speak into me.
Speak into my…

Identity

Only in you can I find who I AM.
Only in you will I find myself.
So I seek you Lord.
Lord, I seek your…

Presence

You dwell with me,
ㅤso I seek your presence here.

Lord, I invite you into my empty places.
I invite you into my hurt.
I invite you into those deep places,
ㅤthose places of…

Absence

Help me Lord.
Help me to move from slavery into freedom.
For you have freed me,
ㅤyet I so frequently live in…

Bondage

Shape me Lord.
Transform me from slave to free.
Transform me from broken to whole.
Transform me from orphan to adopted.
Transform me from death to…

Life

Save me Lord,
ㅤfor I am…

Yours

Psalming as Performance Art — written in real time, as I sat listening to a teaching from Pastor Tim, Hillcrest Church, Oct 1, 2023

--

--

Steve Frank
Psalming Sermons

A programmer discovering himself in poetry…a lifetime preparing to write, now finally putting pen to paper. You’ll find me in my poetry.