Photo by Sasha Freemind on Unsplash

Identity

Steve ThePsalmist
Psalming Sermons
Published in
2 min readMay 17, 2019

--

Who am I?
Who do I believe I am?
Lord, who do you say that I am?

Freedom…
Discovering who I am and learning to walk in that identity…

I am not free.
For I find it difficult to walk in,
ㅤ to live out,
My identity.

I know…

I know I am a beloved child,
ㅤ a beloved son,
Of a loving God.
A loving Father.

Yet…

I struggle.
I struggle to move beyond knowing.
To step into believing,
ㅤ truly believing,
Who I am.
Who I am to God.

I struggle to live the life of a beloved son.
In spite of what God has told me…
In spite of what God has shown me…
I struggle.

So…

I need daily reminders.
I need consistent encouragement.
To live in that knowledge,
ㅤ I need to feel held.
I need to recognize,
ㅤ and to feel,
What God has done for me.
What God is doing for me.
I need to feel God’s…

Love

This is my challenge.
For I often think I am taking care of myself.
That I am holding me.
That only I can be trusted to hold me.

Trust

Trust is my weakness.
I prefer to trust me.
Even though I have failed myself and others many times,
ㅤ I prefer to trust me.
And this keeps me…

Separate

Separate from God.
Separate from God’s love.
This keeps me isolated.
This keeps me…

Alone

But this defies God’s design for me.
God’s plan for me.
For his desire is connection.
His desire is…

Love

To love God.
To love others.
To love myself.
Too live like I am loved.

God’s desire for me is to live like I am…

Beloved

A bit of performance art, written in real time while listening to a bible teaching

--

--