Photo by Victoriano Izquierdo on Unsplash

Leviticus — Preparing to Approach the Divine

Steve Frank
Psalming Sermons
Published in
2 min readOct 16, 2023

--

Unusual circumstances.
Things out of the ordinary.
Things that are unfamiliar.
That seem…

Strange

How could this possibly apply to my life?
What can I learn that is meaningful?
Can I enter into this story and find…

God?

For I live in a world that is lost.
That is filled with uncertainty.
That assumes it knows all,
ㅤyet is overcome with…

Hopelessness

It has become disenchanted.
It is unable to see anything outside of itself.
It is constrained by the visible.
It is imprisoned in its version of…

Reality

A reality that has ordained the ordinary.
That has clothed itself in the meaningless.
That has resisted the source of true goodness.
A reality that has rejected any sense of the…

Divine

But there is another reality.
Another realm.
There is divinity.
For without divinity there is no ordinary.
Without divinity there is simply…

Nothingness

So we must prepare ourselves.
Prepare ourselves to approach the divine.
To step into the powerful presence of…

God

God, the creator of all things.
God, the giver of all goodness.
God, the source of all that is glorious.
God, the divine one who…

Is

God, who appears with fire.
God, whose breath moves the ocean.
God, whose steps shake the mountains.
God, who is a dangerous goodness.

God, who appears with blessing.
God, who is encountered in the quiet.
God, who defines holiness.
God, who invites our…

Worship

Infuse my life Lord,
ㅤinfuse me,
With your goodness.
Infuse my days with meaning.
Infuse my moments with your presence.
Infuse my heart with your…

Love

Lord, overcome the uncertainty in me.
Help me discern the truth from the surrounding whispers of nothingness.
Amplify my sense of the divine.
Help me hear the words that describe your…

Story

Psalming as Performance Art — written in real time, as I sat listening to a teaching from Pastor Tim, Hillcrest Church, Oct 15, 2023

--

--

Steve Frank
Psalming Sermons

A programmer discovering himself in poetry…a lifetime preparing to write, now finally putting pen to paper. You’ll find me in my poetry.